Skip to content

Weekend things: Newport, RI (Mansions, dahhhling)

October 28, 2012
tags: ,

We kicked off Friday night with a movie date at Kendall Square Cinema. We went to see The Master. Have you seen this? It’s pretty wild. It’s a Paul Thomas Anderson movie, and I have to say, we thought it was just beautifully shot. If you have a chance, I highly recommend checking it out. What movies have you seen/are you planning to see? I also want to see: War of the Buttons, Argo, The Perks of Being a Wallflower and something I’m totally forgetting the name of (yes, I’m well aware I ended that sentence with a preposition). I will have to see if I can look it up with terrible descriptions and hand gestures. Maybe my laptop will understand and generate the title? Maybe? 🙂

On Saturday, we continued date night into date day. We took a day trip to Newport, RI. It’s really so beautiful this time of year. Southern New England is a little later to change colors of leaves, so we were still able to do some leaf peeping. We had been on one mansion tour before, and we want to see all of them. This time we went to see Marble House (last time, we saw The Breakers). They don’t allow you to take photos inside, but it’s a 56-room Vanderbilt mansion, and about as amazing and well-preserved as you can imagine.

But before that – LUNCH! We decided to go back to Mooring, because we had such a good time last time we went. I got a Riesling and fish tacos (and the chef made them gluten free for me), and Michael got the oysters and a beer. I had a beet salad with shrimp (not pictured) and he had a cioppino which was delicious. And you get to eat lunch on the water!

After walking around for a bit, we grabbed coffee at a place that got great reviews on Yelp – Empire Coffee & Tea. I have to say, it gets five stars from me. I got the pumpkin pie latte. He had an espresso macchiato. The customer service was impeccable, too.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2012 12:47 pm

    We saw Argo last weekend and Looper this weekend. Both were super! I really want to see The Master too.

Leave a comment