Skip to content

Some knitted things

October 24, 2012
tags:

I’ve been working on a few projects – mainly when we’re hanging out together and watching some of our favorite fall shows (hello Homeland, Dexter, New Girl and Modern Family, just to name a few). With my new commute schedule (read: from a new station closer to the city), I never get a seat on the train, which is when I used to do a bunch of knitting. I simply cannot knit when I’m standing like a sardine! I’m sure the other passengers would be less than amused.

I really need to stop buying random skeins of yarn, just because I like the color/touch. Especially without a project in mind! So since I’m using up yarn, here we go.

The first project is Commuter Fingerless Mitts, and it’s free on Knitty.com. I used the rest of my Western Sky Knits yarn. Loved making this. The buttons I had in my little button collection. Bought them at Windsor Button in downtown Boston. I love to buy buttons. I know my sweet girlfriend Anne agrees with this!

The second project is the Mustard Scarf. It’s free on Ravelry. I used Cascade Eco Cloud yarn for it. I really enjoyed this yarn quite a bit. It’s a chained alpaca, so it doesn’t stretch too much. It was really soft and smooshy and it feels good on the skin. I think it looks better with a coat on, but I was lazy for the picture. It’s a really simple lace pattern and it knit up super quick.

The third was SO fun to knit. It’s the Million Stripes Loop from Ravelry, and it’s about $3.00 for the pattern. I used a bunch of yarns I had, in DK weight. It was a mixture of Plymouth DK and Valley Yarns in DK. It starts with a provisional crochet cast on, and it’s knit on both sides, which I LOVE! The project is completed with a kitchener stitch. It was my first time grafting anything. I will say I definitely made a mistake in the beginning – so it’s hiding on the inside! But once I got going, it was amazing. I am shocked that I got it right!

Finally the last project is the Foliage Hat  – yet another freebie on Ravelry! Ok, I really had fun with this. I love the way it knits up. I used Classic Elite Liberty Wool. I bought 2 skeins of this (and after making the hat, I have one skein and some change), and thinking I might modify this pattern to make matching mitts. Too matchy matchy? Maybe.

Things I’d like to work on next: fair isle! I said this about a year ago (Ack!) and haven’t done it yet. I really want to. I have my eye on a few patterns. Also there are 2 sweaters I would like to knit. Which reminds me – I forgot to get a photo of the sweater I made for myself with my Quince and Co yarn in Puffin. Next time! I made it just as the weather turned warmer, and I haven’t worn it yet.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie permalink
    October 24, 2012 1:34 am

    Hello – I am a new reader and first time commenter. Beautiful projects. I would love to see the sweater you made. What did you think of the Quince and Co yarn? I’ve been wanting to try it out!

    • October 24, 2012 1:31 pm

      Hi Julie! Thank you so much! I will have Michael take a pic so I can show you! The pattern is the Addi Shawl Cardigan on Ravelry (are you a member?). Quince Yarn is hands down my favorite yarn of all time. The first one I’d ordered was the Osprey in Glacier. What I love most is the texture and stitch definition. It feels luxurious to knit with. I have a little swatch card, and I’ll take a pic of that to show you all the colors together.

      • Julie permalink
        October 24, 2012 9:52 pm

        I’ve been on ravelry (jcpluss14) for a while, but mostly to search for patterns. I just finally started posting projects because I’d like to keep track of what I do! I have seen two projects that call for Quince, but have always substituted for it since my lys does not carry it, and I’m usually impatient – when I want to start a project, I want the yarn ASAP! I need to try it out soon, though. Sounds great!

      • October 25, 2012 8:12 am

        I will say, I completely understand! I love instant gratification. However, the shipping is pretty quick, if that helps! I’ll friend you. I’m kittenfire on Rav.

Leave a comment