Skip to content

A sliver of a PR: I need a do-over.

October 22, 2012

Ok! So I had a 28 second PR. Not making excuses but I’ve been sick for a week. I was doing really well with pacing until Mile 18, and then….there was post-nasal drip. Not gonna lie. I started to feel queasy. Then, I figured I needed to make a new plan: Enter Operation Do Not Puke.

So I went with that. Finished in 3:45:33 on my Garmin (which clocked the course at 26.5) and 3:45:39 on the official clock.

Eh, what can you do. So the NEW PLAN is Hyannis Marathon on 2/24 (registered and got a hotel room today!). I am after that sub 3:40. I am on a mission. I know what I need to work on. My race paced miles at the long distance, and ab work. I have been so lax that I really felt this in my core. Also losing 5 pounds would make me really happy. Shockingly not super sore.

I came home, showered and foam rolled, had some BCAAs and egg scramble with veggies. Rehydrated. And I’ll be back out there tomorrow.

Here’s what it looked like:

 

 

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessica permalink
    October 23, 2012 2:05 pm

    No offense, but do you ever feel like you are running from something? Like if you slow down the training and just kind of live your life it’ll be too much? So you hit that sub 3:40, then what? Sub 3:30? I get that you’re a competitive athlete and that is awesome, it just all seems like something more.

    • October 23, 2012 2:43 pm

      Thanks for your feedback! I actually feel like my life is very full, and I do feel happy. I just have some goals I’d like to make. That’s all!

    • Andrea Maria permalink
      October 24, 2012 5:42 pm

      Knowing Nicole personally (not sure if you do), I can attest that she lives her life to the fullest! Running is just a part of it, and more often than not, life gets in the way of her running. She’s got goals, don’t we all? I think it’s amazing how passionate Nicole is about everything she does. She’s running towards something, not away. Cheers!

  2. Meg permalink
    October 23, 2012 4:52 pm

    Your determination is amazing! I can only imagine what it will feel like when you finally reach your goal.

    • October 23, 2012 6:22 pm

      Thank you! I am excited for the journey. The whole process of running and training is wonderful – even if it gets done in the morning, in the dark, before work, hahah! Getting close, so here goes nothing!

Leave a comment