Skip to content

Vegetables: It’s what’s for dinner

July 26, 2011

I have had gazpacho on the BRAIN. Caps, for emphasis. As in, I mentioned to Michael several times that I might make it, would make it, was planning on making it.

On Sunday, we stopped by a farm stand post-beach, and I bought a pound of tomatoes. These were not just for salads. These were my gazpacho tomatoes.

We also had kale. And Michael was asking for kale chips, again. We really do love them! I know lots of bloggers make kale chips (and green monsters, and overnight oats, and the like…and yes, I like them all!) and it’s KIND OF overdone, but hey. I’m showing mine off anyway.

This gazpacho was inspired by The Curvy Carrot. I like my soups kind of chunky and stew like – even in a gazpacho. Certainly puree yours more if you don’t.

Here’s what I did:

  • 1 pound of tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup cucumber
  • 1/2 cup kohlrabi, sliced into matchsticks
  • 1 ear of corn, with kernels cut
  • 1/2 large avocado, sliced into bite sized pieces
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 3/4 cup of water
  • 1 tbsp each: parsley,  basil, mint
  • 1/8 tsp each: chipotle pepper, smoked paprika (I used Penzey spices for both)
  • salt and pepper to taste

In food processor, combine tomatoes and cucumber and pulse until desired consistency. Pour into bowl. Add remaining ingredients, spices and water. Adjust salt and pepper to taste. I let it sit for 30 minutes before serving.

For the kale chips:

  • ~ 6 large kale leaves, destemmed and cut into pieces
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • smoked salt, to taste

Preheat oven to 400. In a large baggie, throw in all your kale and coconut oil. Seal bag and shake it up to coat all the leaves. Line a baking dish with parchment paper or tinfoil, and invert the bag and spread out the kale.

Cook about 8-10 minutes, and keep checking on them – they go from crispy to burnt very quickly! Remove and top with salt. 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a comment