Skip to content

Take 2 and call me in the morning.

October 15, 2012

When I’m getting sick, I go through several phases. The first is denial. I cannot POSSIBLY be sick. I have so much to do. I have a race coming. This is not happening.

The next phase is panic. OMG I AM GETTING SICK AND I AM FREAKING OUT. Quick, let’s throw everything we have at it. So I took: EmergenC, oil of oregano, Advil, my vitamins, a metric ton of tea, then hot water with lemon, then hot water with lemon and honey. Also, drank enough water to fill a child’s swimming pool. Yes, I might just float away.

The final phase is acceptance and pity party. So I slept 9 hours (?!), ran 8 miles (can I sweat it out?), bought Tylenol Cold & Sinus, and made some food. I washed my hands about 231 times and wrecked my manicure in the process. There are worse things.

I decided to use up lots of things in my fridge. Starting with the pumpkin. I made pumpkin chocolate chip cookies. They are really good and fluffy, and I had 2 while they were still hot. With tea. What else is new?

And I made this huge giambotta, which will give me a few lunches for the week. I had it for dinner tonight, too.

Recipes are listed below. 🙂

I saw this recipe on The Wannabe Chef. I got 20 cookies out of mine though, and not 14. No matter.

  • 1.5 cups gluten free flour (I’m still using Pamela’s)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tbsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 4 tbsp butter, melted
  • 1 egg
  • 5 tbsp canned pumpkin
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350*. Mix dry ingredient in one bowl. In a second bowl, combine wet ingredients. Then, mix the two together. Very fancy, I know. Stir in the chocolate chips. Plunk down the cookies, bake for 12 minutes.

Giambotta is a southern Italian stew that my family made a lot, when I was growing up. We pronounced it like all good immigrants do: “jahm-BOT”. It’s the thing you make when you have a bunch of vegetables and you don’t know what to do with them. If you have tomatoes, eggplant and potatoes (yay, nightshades!), you are on your way to a giambotta. But really, there are no rules. So if you like it, throw it in. It all goes down easy.

Good Italians will tell you that this is a dish that will keep you skinny. It’s just vegetables, I heard an older man tell me recently. “You have to make it all the time”. Good idea, buddy.

This version has cabbage. It’s a CSA bonanza.

Into the pot:

  • a small onion
  • 4 scallions
  • 1 small eggplant
  • 1 summer squash
  • 1 zucchini
  • a bunch of green and yellow beans (2 cups?)
  • 3 small red potatoes
  • 1/2 a head of cabbage, cut into thin strips
  • about 2 cups of spinach
  • 1 large can of diced tomatoes
  • salt, pepper, oregano, parsley

Chop all your veggies into pieces that are what you’d want to eat (I like them kind of the same size). After sautĂ©ing, add tomatoes. Add your spices, bring it to a simmer and cover. Let it cook about 30 minutes, until the potatoes are soft. You can add cheese (pecorino romano gets my vote, if you want to) or not. I opted to skip cheese this time. I simply adore cabbage with potatoes. I am really loving this combination of veggies.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

