Skip to content

Ready or not, here it comes.

October 8, 2012

 

So this is happening right now. Recognize any of these issues?

I was convinced my right ITB was pulled. Last night I stretched it out. I rolled it out. I walked around gingerly on it. Woke up and no pain.

As usual, I’m already having race nightmares. I get there and forget to start running, I don’t have sneakers with me, I forget my Gu and no one has any I can borrow, my watch doesn’t work.

I like the term “Maranoia”. It’s marathon induced paranoia. I definitely have this!

Yesterday before my 12 miler, I laced my shoes up, and then tied and retied them and when I got to mile 4, my feet started to fall asleep because I’d tied them too tight. So things like this are happening!

One thing the marathon reminds me of: how alive I am. It’s this adrenaline rush that I’m addicted to chasing. I wouldn’t give it up for anything and I will do this for as long as I can.

How do you deal with tapering and nerves? 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. melissa permalink
    October 8, 2012 3:15 pm

    I’m just constantly freaking out that i’m gonna reopen the stitches on my foot and/or get the wound infected, like, the week before the race.

Leave a Reply

