Skip to content

Pumpkin: Two Ways

September 30, 2012

Oh, pumpkin. I can’t get enough of it. My favorite way to have it lately is in a smoothie. Michael was hankering for a pumpkin pie. Done and done.

 

Isn’t this a sexy photo? So, what’s happening here? Oh, just post 20 mile run. Trying to figure out what I want. My new thing is: I want Diet Coke when I’m on a long run. I have no idea why. None. But then I was cold and wet and wanted tea. And water. And this smoothie. So that happened.

Whining about my weekend runs. Saturday was my last long run at race pace. I finished with a 7:47 pace and was done in 1:16:12. I felt really good about it. My Sunday 20 miler? Sigh. I don’t know. It was cold, raining. I wore my Brooks Pure Flow for the 10 miler, which felt great. Wore the Pure Cadence (pink!) for the 20 and they felt a bit over corrective. They will make great cross training shoes, if nothing else. I am thinking I’m moving more towards a minimal shoe. Pure Connect as race present I think? Also some makeup. I need to plot what I’ll buy!

Recipe:

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin
  • 1/2 of a frozen banana
  • a bunch of cinnamon
  • 1 scoop of Jay Robb Vanilla Whey

Blend, blend, blend.

I made one for Michael too. A slight variation on his.

  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin
  • 1/2 of a frozen banana
  • a bunch of cinnamon

He loved it too! That is saying a lot because he isn’t a smoothie fan. Me? Put anything in a blender and I’ll love it. Well, almost anything.

I made this in my springform pan, and I will say that while the crust needs gluten free perfecting (recipe isn’t really worth a mention, but we did like it enough…), the filling came from Delightful Repast and it was so very good, that I suggested Michael bring it to work to share with the boys. He said no. Ha! I made the whipped cream in the usual way: heavy cream and powdered sugar. I just put in a little and adjust to taste. That’s all.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

