Skip to content

CSA goes into the blender

September 18, 2012

Guess what? We are just about 4.5 weeks from marathon and I am feeling pretty excited. I like to pair this feeling with completely freaking out and having nightmares I won’t reach my goal time.

On Sunday, I had an easy 20 miler, which I was grateful for. I remember a time I would run 20 miles and feel sore the next day. It’s nice when you wake up the next morning and go out for a run.

After my long run, I was in my kitchen trying to figure out what I’d make with my leftover CSA produce. I like using everything up, and I like to make sure I’m eating enough healing and anti-inflammatory foods.

Enter the Vitamix.

And then we had:

What’s in the blender:

  • 5 tomatillos
  • 4 heirloom tomatoes

Blend it up. Pour into a large bowl and add whatever you’d like.

I added:

  • 1 small onion, thinly minced
  • 1 summer squash, cut into small dice sized bites
  • 1 ear of corn, shaved
  • 1 green pepper, cut into small dice sized bites

Ordinarily, I’d add lime, avocado, cucumber and cilantro. I didn’t have any left, so I went with this, added salt and pepper. It was delciious! We got 4 meals out of it, even with me sneaking bites along the way.

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2012 4:33 am

    Yum! Sounds like the perfect way to enjoy summer’s little gems 🙂

    Come and link up this delicious recipe to this week’s CSA Link party…http://inherchucks.com/2012/09/13/whats-in-the-box-43/. Looking forward to seeing you there!

Leave a Reply

