Skip to content

Eggs and Pumpkin love each other.

September 10, 2012

This was a recipe I saw on Paleo Foodie, and I made a couple of tweaks. I found this super filling. I made it the night we picked up our CSA, feeling pressed for time, tired and hungry. It cooked up really fast, filled my belly and I didn’t wake up hungry. Ran 10 miles the next morning – so that seemed good to me.

The CSA I was putting away:

It’s a really generous haul, right? It’s such a first world problem, to have to clean and store all of this lovely produce! But I am grateful to have it, really. I just like to make a quick dinner on CSA pickup night.

I’ll be making this dish a lot. It tastes like fall.

  • 2 eggs
  • 3 tbsp egg whites
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin
  • 1/4 cup chopped red onion
  • 2 tsp thyme
  • 1 tsp ginger (I love Penzey’s best)
  • salt and pepper, if you want (I like a pinch of each)
  • 1 tsp of coconut oil
  • a good handful or so of spinach to put on the bottom of the plate

Mix together the eggs, pumpkin, spices and set aside.

Heat the coconut oil in a nonstick pan, and add the onion. Sautee until onions get translucent. Add salt and pepper if you’re using it. Add the egg/pumpkin mixture. I found the best method for this is to let it set for about a minute, then scramble. Let it reset again and then scramble again. It takes a few minutes more than scrambling eggs.

When finished, plate over a bed of spinach.  Prepare to be pleasantly surprised! Michael is still not convinced, but that just means more for me. Hee!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

