Skip to content

Overnight Oats are CUTE

August 28, 2012

Pinterest People (is that what we call them?) like to put things in Ball jars, it seems. You’ve seen the Ball jar salads, right? Anyway, I decided you know what? These little jars are perfect for making several rounds of overnight oats at a time.

I’ve been trying to do my prep work at the beginning of the week, in an attempt to simplify and streamline my time in the kitchen. Also, I decided to add grains back into my life. So I’m on week 2 of the grains and you know what? I like it. I have been making batches of quinoa and lentils at the beginning of the week, and incorporating those into my lunches. With overnight oats at breakfast, I have noticed I’m not as hungry mid-morning. We’ll see how it goes.

You can make these with or without dairy. These shown have Greek yogurt in them.

For the dairy version:

  • 1/4 cup gluten free oats
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 cup Greek yogurt
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • cinnamon, to taste
  • sunbutter, plunked on top
  • Things you can add in: mashed banana, blueberries, chopped peaches, whatever else you’d like.

Stir it all up, let it sit overnight. The end. 🙂

For the non-dairy version:

  • 1/3 cup gluten free oats
  • 2/3 cup almond or coconut milk
  • 1-2 tbsp chia seeds
  • cinnamon, to taste
  • sunbutter (or really any nut butter you like), plunked on top
  • Same add ins as above

Stir, let sit overnight. Voila! I would say I am going steady with the overnight oats. I have missed them so much.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2012 10:42 am

    Do you microwave those oats before eating them, or do you eat them cold? I’ve never seen this before! How exciting! I accidentally bought milled chia seeds last time I got them and I am not a happy camper. Maybe this would help use them up.

    • August 31, 2012 12:34 pm

      You just eat them cold! Soaking the oats overnight softens the oats, making them easily digestible. There are so many recipes out there, too, if you’re looking for variation (Kath Eats Real Food, Oh She Glows’ blogs). Oh, I bet this would be a great way to use them up. 🙂 Let me know if you like it.

Leave a Reply

