Skip to content

Flour Parade: Gluten Free Chocolate Chunk Cookies

July 30, 2012

So I made my first flour blend, and gluten free cookies! This is my first attempt and Michael loved them (he’s brutally honest, especially when it comes to anything gluten free). He called out to me in the kitchen, mid-bite “Are these gluten, or gluten free?”. Good sign? I’d say so.

I came across this recipe on Gluten Free Goddess’ Blog, and made a couple of tweaks to include dairy/eggs. I also added cinnamon, because I love cinnamon in chocolate chip cookies.

Here’s what I did:

Preheat oven to 350*.

  • 1 cup sorghum flour
  • 1/2 cup millet flour
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 cup tapioca starch
  • 1 tbsp arrowroot starch
  • 1 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt

Blend together and set aside.

In a stand mixer, combine:

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg (at room temperature)
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 vanilla bean, scraped
  • 5 oz chocolate chunks or chips (I used semi-sweet)

Cream butter and sugar together for about 3 minutes. Add egg, cinnamon and vanilla until combined.

Slowly add in flour mixture. Add in chocolate. Roll into balls and bake about 15 minutes. Cool on a rack, eat as soon as you’d like. I prefer the chocolate melty. 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

