Skip to content

Delicious Things: Yarn and Lemon Quinoa with Peas

July 8, 2012

After setting up crafting space in our new house (I am loving the light in here), I was of course, looking at crafting projects and wondering what to make with my yarn. Then, I decided to make a yarn inventory, which is something I haven’t done until now. I know, probably silly not to! Anyway, here are some impulsively purchased yarns from our Tanglewood trip (where we stopped at WEBS). I really love working with the Valley Yarns, and this Superwash DK is springy and knits up nicely. It’s super soft and easy to work with. I like these colors together, though I’m unsure what to make with them!

The Cascade Eco Cloud feels like a dream. I bought 3 skeins (164yds each). I have knit with the Eco+ and liked it a lot (though, I prefer the grey colors to the Eco+ colors though.

So, here’s my current yarn inventory. I also made a tab of remnant yarn, but it looks like chicken scratch. I am on a mission to use up all my odds and ends though.

Brand Type Weight Amount Color
Blue Heron Yarn Rayon/metallic worsted 550 yd slate/silver
Cascade Eco Plus bulky 478yd coral
Cascade Eco Plus bulky 478yd dark grey
Cascade Eco Cloud Aran 167yd x 3 1810 Lot 9360
Classic Elite Summer Sox sock 175yd x 2 5542
Crystal Palace Yarns Mochi Plus Aran 95yd x 3 569 Lot 133
Knit Picks Swish Worsted 110yd x 2 Semolina Lot 82242
Malabrigo Silky Merino DK 150yd x 6 Natural
Mocha’s Fiber Designs Estrellita 2 ply lace 875yd Aegean Sea
Plymouth Earth Rainshadow bulky 88yd 1 Lot 331
Plymouth Select DK Merino Superwash DK 130yd 1017 Lot 04935 green grey
Plymouth Select DK Merino Superwash DK 50yd pale blue
Plymouth Select DK Merino Superwash DK 50yd pale green
Plymouth Select DK Merino Superwash DK 50yd Grey
Plymouth Select DK Merino Superwash DK 50yd yellow
Quince Puffin bulky 112yd Frank’s Plum 114 Lot 003
Spud & Chloe Sweater Yarn Superwash worsted 160yd x 2 Pool 7510 Lot 2876
Sublime Baby Cashmere DK 127yd 0245 Lot 60003
Valley Yarns Extrafine Merino Superwash DK 137yd 02 Lot 73 (dk grey)
Valley Yarns Extrafine Merino Superwash DK 137yd 07 Lot 85 (red)
Valley Yarns Extrafine Merino Superwash DK 137yd 01 Lot 85 (cream)

 

And in other news, I made this:

I was scrolling through my Twitter feed and saw that PopSugar had tweeted a link to this recipe. I made a couple changes, but it should be noted – this is delicious! If you have a boatload of shelling peas (I have 3 more pounds to get through), then you’ll probably want to make this. It’s gluten free, and if you wanted to, it’s easily dairy free as well.

  • 2 cups cooked quinoa
  • 1/2 of one large CSA scallion
  • 1 pound of shelling peas (weight before de-shelling peas)
  • 1/2 cup packed basil leaves
  • 1 medium sized summer squash, diced
  • zest and juice of 1 lemon
  • 1/4 cup ricotta cheese
  • salt and pepper

Cook up the quinoa according to directions. After shelling your peas, give them a quick blanch in water (you know they’re done when they rise to the top of the water). Chop everything in advance, and when the peas are ready, you’re all set to combine in a large bowl. Finish by zesting and juicing lemon over quinoa and veggies. Add salt and pepper to taste. Add the ricotta and give it a stir. You can serve with a little extra ricotta on top if you’d like. I think this would also be nice with the addition of walnuts and arugula!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. ilovefetacheese permalink
    July 10, 2012 5:19 pm

    That looks DELISH!!!

  2. Donna Bennett permalink
    July 16, 2012 6:38 pm

    Hello from Glacier, Wa.

    Many months ago I started a stadium blanket using knit-picks swish worsted – semolina. I ran out of the yarn but was unable to order more because I was on a ship and did not have access to the internet. Knit-picks no longer carries this color. Would you be willing to sell yours to me? I believe 110 yards would suffice.

Leave a Reply

