Skip to content

A Farmer’s Market Salad

July 6, 2012

Fewer things are more beautiful than warm, summer tomatoes. Personally, I like them with a little salt and nothing more. They’re also lovely in a salad.

From our CSA, we received red leaf lettuce, scallions and tomatoes, which I used for the base of the salad. I tossed it with salt and pepper, Portuguese olive oil and a thick balsamic vinegar. On the side, I made barely hard boiled eggs. These were made with really fresh eggs (from the farmer’s market), and for that reason, I had such a struggle with the shells (older eggs peel easier). But no matter. It was still delicious. What you do: place eggs in cold water and heat until just before boiling. Let the eggs sit in the very hot water for 9 minutes. Cool, and peel. I added some smoked mozzarella (also a farmer’s market purchase) on the side.

And in running news, I ran 53 miles this week. I did some speed work at the track this morning, and I am totally loving it! I’m happy to be able to have my eggs and yogurt again. I needed some of my favorite fuel!

I have an 18 miler on Sunday – and I think I’m gonna fuel that with peanut butter Gu. Mmmmmm.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2012 10:34 pm

    Beautiful salad! I love to eat them with eggs.

  2. July 7, 2012 9:44 pm

    Gorgeous salad! I can never make my salads look so beautiful…but then again, for some reason, they always taste better when someone else prepares them 🙂

    I host a weekly CSA link party and would love for you to be a part of it. http://inherchucks.com/2012/07/05/whats-in-the-box-33/. Come and check it out and add your link.

  3. ilovefetacheese permalink
    July 10, 2012 5:19 pm

    what a beautiful salad!

Leave a Reply

