Skip to content

All I Really Want is a Sub-3:30 Marathon.

June 19, 2012

Is that too much to ask? No, right? Since it’s all up to me, it’s happening. It. Is. On.

I’m going with a new training plan. You know the Runner’s World Smart Coach? That. I think it’s time for a shake up. This has a predictor (based on my last HM time) of 3:25:23. 7:50/mile for a full, eh? I would LOVE for that to happen.

Speaking of shake ups, let’s talk about CrossFit. Specifically, let’s talk about The Girls. I happen to love, love, love these workouts. I make Michael look at my muscles all the time, too. I really am that person. “Look, hey lookit this! Can you see that cut?”

Yesterday’s WOD was Cindy (5 pull ups, 10 push ups, 15 squats, as many rounds as possible (AMRAP) in 20 minutes). I got in 17 rounds. It’s so true: the more you do, the more you can do. I followed it up with a recovery run and 400m sprints.

For me, the body weight work seems like a natural pairing with running. As you know, I had a harder time with NROLFA paired with a marathon schedule. Overly heavy on the legs and I’d hit the road the next day and I’d feel like I was running in pudding. Mmmm. Pudding. Which, as you know, I can safely eat again!

What training plans do you reach for? Do you make your own?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2012 3:13 pm

    I tried for the 3:29:59 last Saturday and … it didn’t happen. I was on pace for it up until mile 14 and then I slowed down unknowingly until mile 19, where I hit a spectacular wall. Back to the drawing board …

    • June 19, 2012 3:17 pm

      Oh man! I am sure you still rocked it though. The good news is: there are always more marathons! When is your next?

      • June 19, 2012 3:19 pm

        I’m signed up for the Route 66 Marathon in Tulsa, OK, but that’s not until November 18. I might squeeze in Des Moines in October and maybe something else in September. Plenty of opportunities to break 3:30 there!

      • June 19, 2012 3:20 pm

        You are gonna kill it! Go Dan, go!!

  2. Ellie permalink
    June 20, 2012 11:11 am

    I used this plan for my first marathon and I loved it:
    http://www.runnersworld.com/article/0,7120,s6-238-244-255-8257-0,00.html
    You run only 3 days a week (with each run having a very specific purpose: speedwork, tempo, and long run) and cross train (hard!) twice a week. That was perfect for me, since at the time I was already committed to twice-a-week heavy X-training, and running more than that would not have been feasible for me. I like that it gives you so much flexibility and time for recovery. When I do another marathon, I will use this again.
    Current goal: work on my half-marathon time. I don’t have a plan for that (recs welcome!). 🙂

    • June 20, 2012 1:22 pm

      Glad to hear you liked it! I like that they’re customizable. Mine has me running 5x a week, with one rest day and one crosstraining day. I’m maxing out at 70mpw. It’s great that no matter what your goals are, you can run fewer or more days a week. Re: your half – how much time are you looking to shave off? My rec is to do 3/1 runs for your long runs, with 25% at race pace (last 25%) and race paced shorter runs.

      • Ellie permalink
        June 21, 2012 8:32 am

        Could you please clarify what you mean by 3/1 runs for the long run? You mean 3 parts/1 part (first 75% slower/last 25% race pace)? I’d love to shave off 10-15 minutes. Usually I train just enough to finish comfortably without looking at my time, so there is a ton of room for setting goals and improvement! 🙂

  3. June 21, 2012 1:22 pm

    Yes – exactly. First 75% at your long run pace (whatever you use for your long run. I like to keep mine at least a minute slower per mile than race pace). The last 25% of your run will be at race pace. Save the 25% for the end when you’re tired and you’ll have to work to make your legs turn over faster. It’s hard but worth it. Do it every 3rd Sunday (or whenever you have a long run). If you’re not already doing repeats (for the half, 800m is a good repeat distance), I’d do them at race pace.

    • Ellie permalink
      June 22, 2012 12:20 pm

      Gotcha! Any reason why you can’t/shouldn’t do that for every long run, only every 3rd? Also: How do you go about determining what you set as race pace? I have a fair idea of what I’m capable of now vs. what might actually be attainable, but do you use a formula or just set a goal or…? Thanks in advance, hope I’m not asking too many questions 😉

      • July 2, 2012 2:15 pm

        Because it’s very taxing, esp at the long distance pace. If you’ve got some races under your belt, it’s easy to determine time. You can also use your time on your last HM, and plug it into a race calculator. I run different runs at different paces and I’ve found this helps a lot. My tempo, I run at my 10K PR pace. For 400m repeats, I use mile pace. To calculate your mile pace, basically just get out and run your fastest mile and see what you come up with. For 800s, I use my 5K PR pace. 🙂

Leave a Reply

