Skip to content

Oh lookie! Paleo Brownies!

June 18, 2012

We might be living amidst piles of boxes, but I still managed to get in a little kitchen time.

Also! My allergist called with my results. Skin testing and IgE panel came back normal for dairy and eggs. Even my total IgE (immunoglobulin E, responsible for allergy response) was really low (needs to be under 127, and mine was 7.07). Doc thought maybe taking a little break evened things out, and she gave me the green light to add them back in AND see how I feel. I know, this whole allergy thing is wacky. But the good news is, the inflammation is going down, little by little. Gluten free and me? We agree with one another. The first order of business? BAKING. STAT.

These. Are. Delicious. Make them immediately.

Have you checked out Paleomg’s blog? It’s really great. I found the recipe on there, and the only difference I made was using lite coconut milk. It was all I had.

  • 1 cup dark chocolate chips
  • 7 oz lite coconut milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/4 cup almond flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut flakes
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder

Here’s what I did:

Preheat oven to 350*. Over a double boiler, combine coconut milk and chocolate and heat until combined. While the mixture cools down a bit, combine dry ingredients in a stand mixer bowl. Add 2 eggs and the coconut chocolate mixture. Mix until just combined. Put into 8×8″ parchment lined baking dish. Bake about 28 minutes. Michael likes it best topped with ice cream! Hey, it’s 50% paleo!

I did a quick kitchen prep, and here’s what it looked like:

I baked some apples with cinnamon for eating or topping yogurt or overnight oats. 375* and 30 minutes is all it takes!

Chicken is the usual way (425*, 18 minutes). I topped it with a little organic Taco seasoning blend.

Tatsoi, I needed to use it up before our next CSA delivery. I did the quickest sauté ever: A drop of olive oil, and a sprinkle of salt and pepper. Done.

Ohhhhh the cabbage. THE CABBAGE. You know what? This is so good. I ate like 1/2 of it while I was making dinner. Really. I make Lindsay’s version of cabbage, but since all I had was green, I used it (she likes purple). This is super quick to prep, and then you let it cook down about 20 or so minutes. What you do is: a little olive oil (I use like a smidgen), very thinly sliced onions and apples. Cook it up, add thinly sliced cabbage. Sprinkle on some apple cider vinegar, a pinch of salt and lots of pepper. This tastes decadent. Like butter. I swear to you, it’s amazing.

We got 2 heads of lettuce, so this is the remainder of the 1st head. We have another CSA pickup on Wednesday and I’m determined to eat up this bunch of lettuce before we get more. Salads galore! We had salads with steak for dinner. And you know what? I made sweet potatoes fries for Michael and I have zero pics. So sorry. It was good and it’s GONE.

I nearly forgot! Marathon training – week 1 is done-zo. Closed out the week with 37 miles (I am enjoying this while it lasts!), 2 crossfit WODs and 1 HIIT session. I did one hill session and one race paced run. And one delicious rest day. I am upping my calories a little bit. I was SO HUNGRY this week!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. LindsayChan permalink
    June 18, 2012 1:24 pm

    Uhm YUM!!!! These brownies made my mouth water, I am gonna have to make them! Of course they probably won’t turn out as well as yours! And cabbage cabbage oh lovely cabbage! We should have a food party soon with all of our favorites!

  2. June 18, 2012 1:28 pm

    Girrrrrl they are so easy! They will be amaze. I can’t wait until we move and have a BIG kitchen. Then we are gonna cook it up! ❤

Leave a Reply

