Skip to content

CSA, Eggplant Cacciatore & Good Stuff

June 14, 2012

I’m gonna say it: things are looking up. It’s not even raining today, for starters.

Yesterday, a bunch of things happened: I met with my new allergist, we picked up our CSA in our new town, and our builder fixed the gigantic leak from our porch into our office in the condo. We can’t yet move in for a few reasons, and the indoor puddle when it rained wasn’t helping the cause.

1. Navigating the health care system in our country is an interesting endeavor. I finally got a referral for an allergist, and I was all too excited to go. I filled out the paperwork that arrived by mail, gathered up all my documentation (I have taken photos of every allergic reaction I’ve had) and went on over.

She was so caring and knowledgeable! We talked about my IgG panel, what it means, and how I move on from here. She is confident that my body is being reactive simply because of my gluten intolerance. To make sure I can consume eggs and dairy without issue, she asked me how I felt when I have them (fine), and skin tested as well as blood tested (to see about IgE results, which are different than IgG). She thinks in time, my migraines will fade, but the healing process for the gut will take about a year. Results soon!

2. Our new CSA is super organized and the produce was gorgeous! No pics this week, but I will take a photo of next week’s haul so you can see it. We’re members of Farmer Dave’s, at the Somerville pickup location. Yesterday our goods included: radishes, bok choy, swiss chard, bibb lettuce, green leaf lettuce, tatsoi, cucumber, garlic scapes and dill. So green, right?

3. I made this for dinner:

From left to right: quick sauteed kale with a squeeze of lemon juice, eggplant cacciatore and a GF chicken drumstick for Michael.

A few months back, Michael had a great idea: why not make eggplant cacciatore? Instead of chicken, swap it out for eggplant. Genius. We love this dish a lot.

It takes me about 35 minutes to make, which is nice.

Here’s what I do:

  • 1/2 of a large Vidalia onion, roughly chopped
  • 1 green pepper sliced
  • 1 cup mushrooms
  • 1 large eggplant, diced into even 1″ pieces
  • 20 oz of crushed tomatoes, no salt added
  • 1/2 cup dry red wine
  • 2 tbsp Italian herbs (you can use a mix or make your own)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Put a little oil of your choice in a pan and heat it up. I used Grapeseed because I didn’t want to open the Olive Oil I just bought, and the Grapeseed was open.

Throw in all your veggies. Cook about 10 minutes.  Crush the spices with your hand or a mortar and pestile. Sprinkle over veggies. Add wine, and stir to combine. Add tomatoes. Add salt and pepper. Cover and simmer at very low heat.

When you’re nearing the end of cooking time, taste and adjust your salt and pepper as you need to. Serve with extra cracked pepper and/or pecorino romano cheese, if you’d like.

Michael was feeling a little low in the protein department, so while the eggplant cacciatore simmered, I made him this:

Easy peasy drumstick recipe:

  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup gluten free “breadcrumbs” (hint: it’s cornmeal)
  • pepper, salt, smoked paprika, pinch of parsley

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. In one bowl, scramble an egg. In another, add breadcrumbs and season them up. I like this combination, but you can use whatever you’d like.

Dunk the drumstick into the egg, then into the breadcrumbs. Then, do it all over again. Egg and breadcrumb. You’ll have a really thick coating on the drumstick.

Bake until internal temperature reaches 165*. For me, this took about 30 minutes. Serve it up!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

