Skip to content

Dry Roasted Broccoli is Magic

June 1, 2012

I keep making this and eating it in various ways. Preheat oven to 425*. Wash and dry broccoli pieces, and place on a baking sheet. I lined with foil first. Bake for 20 minutes until the tops are crispy. Top with a little sea salt. I usually end up eating at least half of this while I’m making dinner! There are worse things than eating a boatload of greens.

Tonight, I got in the kitchen and I made something that I really liked. It was the first time I’ve felt like myself in a while. ‘

I baked 2 chicken breasts I had on hand while the broccoli was in the oven. I made 2 servings of this (1 for dinner tonight, 1 for lunch tomorrow). The chicken breasts at 425* take 18 minutes to cook. I just put a little herbed salt seasoning (we had some leftover from our CSA last year – it’s a delicious blend), and a drop of grape seed oil on each.

On the stovetop, I made 1/2 cup of quinoa. This makes 1 cup cooked, or two 1/2 cup servings. I haven’t made quinoa in so long! I forgot I really liked it.

I guess you could call this a quinoa chicken bowl? I layered it up, gave it a good stir, and it was super delicious.

Here’s what I did:

  • 2 cups dry roasted broccoli
  • 2 chicken breasts, cooked and diced (let rest before cutting to retain moisture)
  • 1 cup cooked quinoa
  • 1 large tomato, diced
  • 2 small or 1 large green onion
  • drizzle of Tamari (or soy sauce if you don’t have gluten issues)

In each bowl layer 1/2 cup quinoa, 1 cup broccoli, 1/2 tomato, chicken, and green onion. Add a drizzle of tamari and then mix it all up. Is this a lot of food? I don’t care. I was so HUNGRY today. Tough workouts this week. Still recovering from a Crossfit session – I did the Murph! Yikes, that is tough stuff, in memory of a tough guy – Lt. Michael Murphy, who was killed in Afghanistan in June 2005. This was one of his favorite workouts. (It’s a 1 mile run, 100 pull ups, 200 push ups, 300 squats, 1 mile run. I finished in a little over 43 minutes with my first mile at 7:35 and the last at 8:40. As you can see, there was a clear deterioration!)

I had a delicious grapefruit for dessert. I have been having grapefruits every night. I can’t get enough!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

