Skip to content

Decisions, Decisions.

May 31, 2012

Color! Oh gosh. I love them all. I could make an argument for any color. We have a whole place to paint and with our neutral palette of furniture, the walls are our colorful oyster.

Here’s a little sneak peak of what we’re planning:

Other things I’ve been deciding on – new protein powders for my green monster smoothies! With whey, kefir, bananas and almonds out of the question, I needed to figure out something else.

I bought these two: Vega Whole Food Smoothie Infusion and Nutribiotic Chocolate Rice Protein.

Vega Smoothie Infuser is a pea/hemp/rice protein blend, and it has 120 cals and 14 grams of protein per serving. Taste-wise, it’s very neutral. There’s no saccharine sweetness, or hint of vanilla even. It’s a little gritty but not terrible. I blended it with spinach, coconut milk, and a few frozen peaches. I’m thinking next time I’ll try some orange slices and strawberries. I will report back on this.

Nutribiotic Chocolate Rice Protein is just what it sounds like – rice protein. One heaping tablespoon is 60 calories and 12 grams of protein. I really like this one. It’s barely a chocolate taste, and for 2 grams of carbs and 1 gram of sugar, I think this is a winner. It’s smooth, like a whey protein, and I think it lends itself to flavor. I had this today (2 tbsp for extra protein) with spinach, coconut milk, blueberries and cinnamon. Yum! I think I’d like to try this with coffee, too. Kind of like a mocha, with rice milk. That would be green coffee “milk” I suppose.

I know these don’t have the same protein profile as whey, of course. But I’ll tell you what: I’m liking the ingredient lists. I’ll let you know what other combinations I make with these.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2012 12:26 pm

    The Vega Smoothie Infuser sounds interesting. I haven’t found a protein blend that I absolutely love yet, but I do like non-soy blends.

Leave a Reply

