Skip to content

Day Trip to Newport, Rhode Island

May 21, 2012

It was so nice today, we decided to go to for a day trip. We hadn’t been to any mansion tours in Rhode Island, so why not start there? It’s just 1.5 hours away, is on the water and has some good places to get seafood.

We first went to The Breakers mansion and took a guided audio tour. It was just spectacular. I was most in love with the music room and the kitchen.

 

Then we went over to The Mooring and ate a bunch of delicious seafood. No pics of this, but it was AMAZING. We had such a good time.

I have made some changes to my diet recently (including much lower sugar and no dried fruits or high glycemic index fruits) and I had been really on my game all week, so I was looking forward to a treat. We decided to get gelato. If there is one thing that’s worth it, it’s gelato. I enjoyed the heck out of it. Cold Fusion is a place that makes artisan gelato flavors. I got half Tahitian vanilla and half caramel apple. Michael got half peach ginger and half lemon custard.

And we went to a place called Virgin & Aged. They sell flavored oils and balsamic vinegars.

 

 

And you can try them all:

 

We got the Portuguese oil and strawberry balsamic. I kind of regret not getting the peach white balsamic, but next time we will. So on our next trip to Newport, we’re going to check out another mansion, the lighthouses and the wine vineyard! So much to do, so little time.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Emmie permalink
    May 21, 2012 2:44 pm

    Looks pretty! I am interested in your diet changes, what have you been eating/avoiding?

    • May 21, 2012 3:12 pm

      Hi Emmie! I adjusted my protein intake so it’s the same amount at each meal/snack. Before my morning workouts, I have 1/2 cup blueberries and if it’s a lifting day, BCAAs. After my workout, I have 1/2 small sweet potato. I’m trying to get away from relying on higher sugar foods. I used to have rice chex (gluten free!) with raisins after work (because by then I’m usually starving and can’t wait for dinner, and I figured it was kind of my “treat”) but that was setting me up for a sugar crash. Dried fruit is so high in sugar. And it makes me want MORE raisins. I’m 2 week raisin-free. This is a monumental occurance.As a runner, I tend to think it’s fine, but I don’t think it is in reality. The rice chex was my only grain-based food of the day, and I don’t think I really *need* it – doesn’t add anything to my nutrition. I still really love the primal diet model. I replaced the rice chex snack with egg whites and salsa. It has made a difference I think! I am only looking to lose some vanity weight, but it’ll help me run faster if I do. Good incentive.

Leave a Reply

