Skip to content

Race Report: Wallis Sands Half Marathon 2012

May 14, 2012
tags: ,

I liked this little race a lot! Some real talent out there on this field, too. It’s pretty picturesque, was well organized, and NH coast in May is nice and cool in the morning. Just how I like it.

I started with an extra shirt on (Applefest Half 2008 – I love that shirt) and tossed it at mile 3. We found it later (can’t miss the color on the side of the road). It was a nice and easy 1:47, which left me with an 8:10/mile average and landed me at 11th out of 182 in my age group.

I am feeling a little conflicted about this time. On the one hand, it’s a great time! On the other, I finished with extra gas in the tank, which means I could have pushed harder. I worry about pacing myself in longer races, and I think I just have to push a little harder next time.

On the plus side, recovery was very easy, even with travel in a cramped plane. I ran about 30 miles last week, even on vacation.

Other notables: I ran this in my Brooks Pure Cadence, and I LOVE THEM SO MUCH. I love them so much, I feel like shouting. No blisters. This has never happened to me before. Also, even though I’m a very neutral runner, I still like some support at the long distance level. I feel like I just deteriorate out there over time. So I’m saving the more minimals for shorter distance and keeping these for the longer. Amazing. Get them immediately if not sooner. That is my recommendation.

I look a little tired here I know. I was waiting for the Wave 1 start.

And here is some of the gorgeous scenery Michael shot:

If you have the opportunity to run this, definitely take it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

