Skip to content

Happy Hippie: Thai Lentils & Crafts

April 23, 2012

What did I do this weekend? I made this loveliness. It’s gluten and dairy free. It tastes sinfully good and it was such good running fuel for my Sunday 15 miler. There’s my endorsement.

I found this recipe at Pinch of Yum, and made just a few adjustments.

  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • 1/2 cup French lentils
  • 1 medium sized sweet potato, diced
  • drizzle of grape seed oil
  • 2 cups shredded green cabbage
  • 3/4 cup diced tomatoes, no salt added
  • 1/3 cup light coconut milk
  • 2 tsp powdered ginger
  • 2 tsp sweet curry powder
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika (note: all spices are from Penzey’s)
  • good handful of cilantro, chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste

Combine lentils, potato and broth in a pot and bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer for about 30 minutes or until lentils and potatoes are soft and the liquid is absorbed.

In another pan, sauté cabbage in oil until it’s super soft. Add spices, tomatoes, coconut milk and simmer about 10 minutes. Combine lentils and potatoes with cabbage (just kind of dump them into the cabbage stir fry you have going on) and top with cilantro. Done!

Other things I did this weekend…..

I’m working on a quilt. Here are my first four 9-sqaures.  I’ll continue to show you as I progress.

And I’m knitting this Honey Cowl to use up some yarn. I’m using up my Spud and Chloe Sweater Yarn (in Pool, if I recall), and some leftover Knit Picks HW Gloss in…Cranberry? It’s more of a red in person. I like this color combination a lot.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

