Skip to content

Delicious Cauliflower Crust Pizza

April 17, 2012

I’d been wanting to make this for a while and no better time than the present. I was just about dying for pizza. I looked at a bunch of recipes (I love feta cheese and Eat.Drink.Smile both had recipes I liked) and then decided to make my own version. I thought it was fabulous.

So here’s what you do:

For the crust:

  • 1 head of cauliflower
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 tbsp Italian seasoning blend
  • salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 425*. Cut cauliflower into pieces and place in food processor. Pulse until it looks like rice (see the above photo). Microwave riced cauliflower for 8 minutes. Let it cool until it’s easy to handle. You’ll want to press the water out of it. The easiest way to do this is with a cheesecloth. You can also use paper towels. Put the cooled cauliflower in a cheesecloth and squeeze until it’s pretty dry. Mix in egg, cheese and spices to dry cauliflower.

Spread mixture into a pizza-crust shape onto a Silpat or parchment paper and bake for 20 minutes or until firm.

It’ll look like this:

After that, you can top as you like (I made a quick pizza sauce and used mozzarella and basil). Bake for 10 additional minutes. Allow to cool a bit before cutting. Not gonna lie. I nearly ate all of it.

Of course, I made a pizza for Michael, too. It looked lovely. I hope you like it!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. ilovefetacheese permalink
    April 17, 2012 12:56 am

    LOOKS AWESOME!! I loved it too. Its a lot of work so I haven’t made it again but I really did love it. And its pretty much guilt free. Unlike the almond flour pizza I made that was like 2000 calories for just the crust haha….I’m glad you enjoyed it.

    • April 18, 2012 2:43 pm

      I love almond flour ANYTHING! Thanks so much for your recipe on this. I really loved this crust.

  2. Michelle Durante permalink
    April 18, 2012 9:49 pm

    Oh this looks wonderful. Maybe you can make it for your favorite sis. =^..^=

Leave a Reply

