Skip to content

Flourless cupcakes (and other things)

April 4, 2012

Success? Yes! Flourless and free of added refined sugar. There is some sugar in the dark chocolate, though. I wanted to test drive something to bring to Easter brunch (cupcakes are kind of brunch-y, yeah?). Also I hadn’t much baked anything in eons. This was a nice place to start. I got the recipe from Elana’s Pantry, and I made a couple of tweaks.

  • 3/4 cup baking chocolate
  • 3/4 cup dark chocolate
  • 1/2 cup almond meal
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup dark agave
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • healthy pinch of kosher salt

Preheat the oven to 350. In a food processor, combine baking chips, chocolate chips and almond flour. Blend until it’s got the consistency of sand. Add eggs, coconut oil and agave. Blend until nearly smooth. Add vanilla and salt last. Pour into 10 muffin cups and bake for 15 mins.

They’ll be a teeny bit soft in the middle, like a lava cake. Because I used some baking chocolate, these are really chocolately! I skipped the frosting because theses seemed decadent enough. Michael and I loved the coconut taste from the oil.

Other things that happened in the kitchen:

I took some pics of today’s lunches I packed for us. Something I am loving right now: egg salad on arugula. Can’t get enough. I mash 2 eggs with a little mustard (you can use whichever kind you like – I prefer regular yellow). I add edamame to the mix and for whatever reason, I want to eat it every day. Also in my lunch – a tomato and a bunch of steamed broccoli.

And here’s Michael’s lunch. I got him a Mr. Bento a few months ago and I think it’s about the cutest thing.

I packed some chicken soup with rice, an arugula salad with potatoes, goat cheese and proscuitto, and some pecans and the flourless cupcake!

And that’s all I have for today!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2012 9:43 pm

    Elana’s Pantry is great! We’ve been making her DIY power bars for years. I need to use my bento more. I’ve been making egg salad w/ laughing cow light cheese, mustard and relish…so good!

  2. April 9, 2012 11:47 pm

    Give it a try… I do 4 hardboiled eggs + 2 wedges lc light + 1 Tbsp mayo (can be omitted) + 2 tsp relish + 1 tsp dijon + salt and pepper to taste. Just made a batch today for the week. I get about 4 servings out of it but my calorie needs are much lower than yours.

Leave a Reply

