Skip to content

Gluten Free Stuff.

March 28, 2012

Forgive me, please. I’ve not been feeling like myself. I’m getting back there, though.

The idea of baking and not being able to use my usual go-to ingredients has been a little discouraging. After a rough few weeks, Michael planned us a nice trip to Vermont for the weekend, and I am hoping to turn some of this energy around!

One thing we did was make a trip to Whole Foods:

I was out of chia and flax seeds, wanted to try the sunflower seed milk (I really like it!) and quinoa spaghetti, too. I got a bunch of vegan/GF protein powders, to shake things up a bit. No real winners for me. I’m sticking with kefir, I think. For some reason lately, the powders are freaking me out.  Oh, and some Justin’s maple almond butter packs. Almond butter I can take to-go? Yes, please.

Other things I did include making some orange creamsicle chia seed pudding! It was too good. TOO GOOD.

Cute little chia seeds.

I made cookies too, but I’m working on the recipe. I think these were just ok. I think I needed smaller chocolate chips or to make bigger cookies. Haha. Oh, well. Trial and error.

And finally, what did I have for dinner last night? A really yummy egg scramble with leftover veggies (steamed broccoli, cauliflower, mushrooms), scallions and roasted sweet potatoes. I used 1 egg and 1/2 cup egg whites. I threw in a little smoked gouda and had a cranberry kombucha and strawberries.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2012 9:44 pm

    Oh my goodness, the chia pudding sounds amazing! Yet another ingredient I can’t find here. 😦 Hope you’re getting back to feeling like yourself. Being gf is a huge change!

    • April 6, 2012 3:53 pm

      You poor dear! Can you order? I am always available to send as well. 🙂 Thanks so much; it really is. I am feeling better every day.

Leave a Reply

