Skip to content

Vitamix in full effect

March 12, 2012

I was so excited to finish my Sunday long run so I could blend, blend, blend!

Let me show you what I made.

For Michael, I made a Vanilla Pear Smoothie.

  • 1 ripe pear, cut into pieces
  • 1/2 cup milk (you could use rice, almond, coconut, soy or cow)
  • 4 ice cubes
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Blend and serve!

And for me:

Isn’t it super green?

  • 1 cup kale
  • 1 cup 1% kefir
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/2 cup pineapple
  • 4 ice cubes

Kale is definitely more “green” tasting than spinach, but I loved this nevertheless.

One thing I decided to do was blend kale and freeze into ice cube tray for ease of use when I want to pop some kale into my green monster.

1 bag of kale plus 8 oz of coconut water, and this is what happened:

I was busy prepping all my foods for the week (note the cantaloupe and chopped tomatoes). Tomatoes didn’t all fit into their container so I decided to eat the leftovers for a snack. 🙂

And a bonus pic:

Getting all my supplements ready every morning is a pain in the bum! I am taking extra because of this gluten issue, so this weekend, after Michael’s urging, I just got one of these pill containers. Voila. Fill it once a week and you’re done. 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Christine permalink
    March 12, 2012 3:56 pm

    Oh my god, Vitamix envy! I am being selfish here but can you please make some fun gluten free spring soups so I can copy you? So awesome!

    • March 12, 2012 5:22 pm

      You bet I will! Just for you. 🙂 I have a bunch of ideas I’m rolling around my brain. Next week for sure.

Leave a Reply

