Skip to content

The Apple Pie Green Monster

February 6, 2012

I am still drinking my green monsters every day, but lately I’ve been getting bored. Not gonna lie. I’m always on the lookout for something new to do to jazz it up.

Cruising through Pinterest the other night, I came across a link for an Apple Pie Smoothie over at Loves Veggies and Yoga. I thought about it, then decided to make my own version – with spinach of course!

It’s green, it tastes like apple pie, and it’s really delicious. Happy Breakfast!

  • 2 cups baby spinach
  • 1/2 cup plain greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup apple juice, no sugar added
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 of a small banana
  • 1/4 cup chopped apple, with peel on
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon (I highly recommend Penzey’s Vietnamese cinnamon, but any would be good)
  • 1/8 tsp of vanilla extract

Blend it up! It’s good to the last drop.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2012 1:15 am

    Thanks for the linkback and glad you got your greens in, by way of an apple smoothie 🙂

    • February 6, 2012 1:48 pm

      Thanks for the recipe idea! And I need my spinach in the morning! 🙂 Spinach + apple pie = reaaaaally tasty.

  2. February 6, 2012 4:28 pm

    Can’t wait to try this!

Leave a Reply

