Skip to content

My first attempt at Cadbury Eggs.

January 9, 2012

On Friday, Michael sent me a link to Not Without Salt’s blog post on homemade Cadbury Eggs. Seeing as I was hosting a little dinner for my newly-engaged sister and brother-in-law to be, I figured, what the heck – I’ll make them for dessert.

I followed the recipe to the letter, minus the orange flower water (which was optional, and I was out of).

A few words on my experience: it was no easy task. Making the filling – no issue. Dunking them into chocolate with a toothpick and letting dry upright on a potato? Laughable. I had chocolate on everything. Plan on putting the eggs back into the fridge multiple times because as soon as they get even a touch warm, you’ll impale them on the toothpick. I lost one this way. Boo.

If I make them again, I think I’ll make them smaller. I know it’s not health food but it’s intense! I think reducing the size by half would make me happy.

First I made the “yolks” and “whites”.

Then, I dunked into chocolate and did the tater trick:

A few eggs:

And the inside (this one had to dry on my Silpat, hence it’s not perfectly shaped):

What do you think? Probably worth another go, yeah?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2012 1:07 am

    I bet those took a long time and I would’ve had chocolate everywhere…I always do with those sorts of things!

    • January 9, 2012 4:04 pm

      Haha – oh man. I’ll tell you what: the filling took me, no joke, about 10 minutes with clean up. Figuring out exactly how to dip the chocolate without messing up everything was more of an art. If you make them, give yourself a good solid 30 minutes for that part!

Leave a Reply

