Skip to content

DIY: Stuff I’ve made

December 23, 2011
tags: ,

I’ve been busy making things. Let me show you what’s been happening.

This is for my mom. I’m making one for myself too! It’s the Abbi Cardigan on Ravelry, and I made it with Cascade Eco+ yarn. I sized down to 11 needles, and it took about 400 yards of yarn.

Next up, From Norway with Love mittens (it’s free):

I really loved making these. I knit them with Plymouth Select DK Merino Superwash yarn, and I held the yarn double for the wrist. It’s a really nice DK yarn. I highly recommend it.

I have made this a couple of times. It’s Calorimetry (also free!). My sister asked for a second one, so I made this for her birthday.

I made this with Valley Yarns Superwash DK and I held the yarn double. It’s really bouncy. Michelle loved it. If you are new to short rows, this is a great pattern to start with.

I made some knit bangles for my girlfriend Melissa after seeing some on Pinterest that inspired me. I measured the bracelet, did a gauge swatch and then knit it up. I used size 10 needles and did a provisional cast on with 50 stitches. For the ribbed, it’s 2×2 ribbing, and the stockinette is just that. After knitting each bracelet until it was 2″ wide, I wrapped the knitted swatch around the bracelet and wove a yarn needle though one loop from provisional cast on with one live stitch from needle. That was it!

Ok, finally, here are 2 other bracelets I’ve made. The hex nut one is from Honesty…WTF and the Swarovski stretch bracelet was made simply by stringing beads onto stretch cord and tying it up. I love the crystal one. I’ve been wearing it so much.

Thanks for looking!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Samantha permalink
    December 24, 2011 12:50 am

    You’ve been busy! Love the color flow on the mittens! And the cardigan is great, so versatile!

    • December 24, 2011 5:21 pm

      Thanks so much! The sweater is for my Mum – I hope she likes it! I’m making another one for me, too. This time in a different yarn and in my size. I can’t wait to knit it.

Leave a Reply

