Skip to content

Compare and Contrast: Muscle Progression Pics

December 4, 2011

I’ve been working on my muscles. The last photos I asked Michael to take were in late August. Here’s what we took on Saturday.

Lighting was a challenge. I feel a little sad because I think it looks more defined in person. Oh well. So here’s a second one, slightly different light:

I didn’t take ab pics in August, so consider these the first:

And a closer one (some oblique definition, but no linea alba just yet) :

Looks like more shoulder definition since August, but still not exactly what I want (working on it!):

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m still working on New Rules of Lifting for Abs (redid stage 1 with heavier weights, now onto stage 2). I added in burpees and jump rope (most recently). And of course, doing about a million planks in yoga helps, too. This is in addition to running and biking. I rode 16 miles this morning. 🙂

Plan: continue to work at this, and I’ll take another set of photos in three months. Happy training, all!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Tracie permalink
    December 5, 2011 3:23 pm

    Nice bi’s! For the middle line, I think it’s also genes. I’ve always had a very defined middle ab line even when I was just playing sports and not doing any real training. Now that I’m doing Xtreme abs though I definitely notice the line is super defined. Box Jumps, squat jumps and other plyos movements will definitely help, as will lifting HEAVY one day per week with no serious cardio other than a quick warmup.

    I do quick warm up, 3 sets of bench press (bar plus 10lbs on each side), lat pulldowns (60 x 3), tri extensions (45 x 3), bi curls (15lbs x 3), pullups (2 sets of 6), 1 min of solid burpees (with the full pushup), box jumps (3 sets), cleans (30 times 2) and then squats with weight. I am very toned but not like crazy bodybuilder lady, I gots curves, but they are 100% solid. I drink my BCAAs throughout the whole workout, then do a chocolate whey shake after. Other than that I do spinning one night a week, HIIT class (60 minutes) one night a week, yoga one night a week, and cross training one night a week.

    • December 5, 2011 5:50 pm

      You have a great schedule – nice variety! I really struggle with adding in as much lifting as I’d like to (and heavy lower body weights and a heavy running schedule aren’t great friends – esp if I want to be fast!). So right now, I’m sort of doing a bit more.

      All I’ve read on the linea alba says that it’s mainly genetic. I can see mine in the morning (yay, overnight fasting), but then it subsides. I’d really like to not have that happen. I mean, if I CAN. You know? Ah, lofty goals.

      Oh – regarding the plyo stuff- I love it, too!

  2. December 5, 2011 8:59 pm

    Nice progress NDW! Someday when I have no pinched nerves and my back is stronger I do want to try this book. Looking great!!

  3. ilovefetacheese permalink
    December 7, 2011 5:32 pm

    you look great darling! Love your muscle def in your arms.

Leave a Reply

