Skip to content

Getting my brain and feet in the same place.

November 30, 2011
tags:

 

Last night in my hot vinyasa class, I had to keep reminding myself of this. I have heard people generally fall into one of two camps when it comes to internal dialogue: rumination (thinking about things that have happened) or fantasy (thinking about things that will happen in the future).

I am nearly solidly in the latter group. I am in a constant state of thinking about what I am doing next. I get home from work, and go into a flurry of doing things NOW to save time LATER. Meaning I prepare next day’s breakfasts and lunches for Michael and myself and then I change, and run off to yoga. I sometimes even prep dinner before I leave for class – to really amp up the craziness.

I arrived at class with 5 minutes to spare, my brain still churning from the day.

It took me a set of 8 sun salutation A’s and 8 B’s to start to settle down. I had a challenging time reminding myself of where I was. I found myself slipping out of dancer’s pose (though, to be fair, I was very sweaty and lost the grip on my ankle…).

I was feeling more like this:

Spacey.

But, I decided to focus on a color (white) and let my mind stop thinking. And you know, I could have held that dancer’s pose a lot longer suddenly.

I stuck with that image for the rest of the practice.

Getting my brain and my feet in the same place is something I’m working at – not just in yoga, but in all parts of my life. Sometimes you just have be right here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Caroline permalink
    November 30, 2011 8:29 pm

    Agreed. I too stress over the future, when I’m going to workout, what I’m going to eat for dinner, what I’m going to wear to work the next day that I feel like sometimes I miss all the amazing stuff happening around me. It’s definitely during my conditioning classes–going a little lower on those third set of squats or REALLY jumping on that last burpee set–that I find myself 100% completely in the moment. The challenge is incorporating that same feeling into everyday life and embracing the present moment. Sometimes I just close my eyes and repeat “awareness” to myself over and over and over. Or just watch my tuxedo cats lick their paws. That helps too 🙂

    • November 30, 2011 8:51 pm

      That is great stuff! I love the idea of using “awareness” as a key meditation word. And I have to tell you – I have done about a zillion burpees this week. Cannot get enough. I did star burst ones this morning. And I agree- I am really in the moment when I’m doing those. I bet your kitties are adorable!

Leave a Reply

