Skip to content

Sweet Swirled Brioche

November 28, 2011

Trying to figure out how to use leftover cranberries from Thanksgiving? I was, too. Not exactly health food, but this was really happy bread. It perfumed the house in the most welcoming way.

I saw the recipe on Foodgawker (love that site), which led me to this recipe, and then I made a couple tweaks.

Here’s what I did:

  • 3.5 cups bread flour
  • 1 packet fast rising yeast
  • 1/2 cup warm water
  • 4 tbsp sugar + 1 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 egg
  • 6 tbsp unsalted, melted butter
  • 1 tsp salt

For the filling:

  • 3/4 cup dried cranberries
  • zest of 2 mandarins
  • 3/4 cup of chopped nuts (I used almonds, walnuts and hazelnuts, mixed)
  • scant 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tbsp Penzey’s Cake spice
  • 1 tbsp Penzey’s Vietnamese cinnamon

For the egg wash:

  • 1 egg mixed with 1 tsp water, brushed over bread

Here’s what you do:

Proof the yeast by combining 1 tsp sugar with 1/2 cup warm water. Sprinkle the yeast over, and let it sit for 10 minutes. It should be very foamy. If not, start over.

In a mixing bowl or stand mixer, combine dry ingredients. Add yeast and blend. Add egg, milk and butter. Blend to combine. Switch to a dough hook and mix for about 7 minutes. The dough will be firm and bounce back. It should not be sticky. If you are kneading by hand, this will take about 10 minutes or so.

While dough is blending, mix your filling together and keep nearby.

Roll out dough into 8×16″ shape onto a floured surface.

You can brush with a little water if you want (I like to, because it helps the filling stay put a bit easier when I’m rolling it up) and then sprinkle the filling evenly all over the dough.

Roll up from the small end, and place in a loaf pan. Let rise for 2 hours.

Preheat oven to 375*. Brush top with egg and water mixture. Bake about 40 minutes and cool on cooling rack.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2011 3:21 pm

    yum!

  2. melissa permalink
    November 28, 2011 4:34 pm

    oh mah gawd. Cranberries, spices and BREAD – easily three of my favorite things. Ok, basically anything bread. Who am I trying to kid?
    Need to make this. have never made bread though. I’ll try to be brave 🙂

    • November 28, 2011 5:54 pm

      Oh you should definitely give it a go! I always let my bread rise in a cold oven with the light on. I swear by this method! It gets to about 100 in there with the light on. Perfect bread EVERY time. As long as you proof the yeast and it’s alive, you’re honestly golden. And stick with bread flour. Those are all of my fool-proof tips. Let me know how it turns out! Baking bread is so very satisfying.

  3. melissa permalink
    November 28, 2011 4:35 pm

    I wonder what one could use instead of Cake spice since I don’t have that?

    • November 28, 2011 5:52 pm

      I think that going by the original recipe, you can simply use what was suggested (combination of spices, or even simply cinnamon I believe). I love the cake spice, so I am taking every opportunity to use it!

Leave a Reply

