Skip to content

This Yankee girl does chicken & dumplings

November 15, 2011

It’s true. I do. And sometimes (gasp!), I even make it without chicken. I also make it without butter (except in the biscuits) or heavy cream.

Truth be told, I nearly forgot the chicken this time. Whoopsie. Former veg-head, so that is my excuse.

I have read many recipes but I tend to use my own creation.

So here’s how I do it:

  • 1 leek (you can use onion or spring onion, too), thinly sliced, white parts only
  • 2 celery stalks, chopped
  • 2 carrots, chopped
  • 2 parsnips, chopped
  • 2 cups broth (chicken or vegetable – I get one with low sodium if I don’t make my own)
  • 1.5 cups skim milk
  • poultry seasoning (to taste, I just kind of shake it in until it tastes good)
  • 2 tbsp each of the following fresh herbs: sage, rosemary, thyme, parsley
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1 large chicken breast, cut into small pieces
  • salt and pepper to taste

For the dumplings (I usually use the recipe from Chaos in the Kitchen):

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup chopped parsley
  • 1 cup skim milk
  • 4 tbsp melted butter

Put a little oil in the pan (I used grapeseed because it’s what I had) and sautee leeks, celery, carrots and parsnips. Add poultry seasoning, salt and pepper.

Add broth, milk and herbs. Simmer about 20 minutes, until the veggies are tender. Put the cornstarch in a small bowl. Using a ladle, mix about a 1/2 cup of the broth (try to just extract the broth, and not vegetables or herbs) with the cornstarch in the bowl. Whisk until well blended. Return cornstarch mix to the pot. This will help thicken the broth.

Make biscuit dough batter and set aside. For that, just combine dry ingredients, then mix with wet. Add parsley and you’re done.

Cut the chicken into pieces and stir into the vegetable mix. Bring to a nice simmer and then add the dumplings. You’ll just add teaspoons of batter to the top of the simmering chicken and vegetables. Put the lid on immediately and let it cook through. It takes about 15 minutes. You’ll know when they’re ready because they’ll be puffed up and won’t look wet.

You want to add the chicken right before the dumplings because, in my experience, the chicken cooks quickly and the dumplings cook slow. So, putting the chicken in sooner means you risk overcooking.

*Some notes: I forgot to add peas this time. I usually do, but I forgot. I’m pretty sure this isn’t 100% authentic, but I’ll tell you this: it’s delicious. 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

