Skip to content

Homemade Cinnamon Raisin Bread

November 14, 2011

We went to Penzey’s on Saturday, and among the spices we bought was their amazing Vietnamese Extra Fancy Cinnamon. I started making this bread the minute we walked through the door. Have you been to Penzey’s before or even ordered online? It’s such a fantastic place. My favorite spices have been: powdered China #1 ginger, cardamon, cake spice, ancho chili pepper ground and smoked Spanish paprika. Not gonna lie, I love all that we’ve bought (read: A TON), but these I use up fastest.

Onto the bread!

I think I’ve used a couple other recipes from Big Flavors from a Tiny Kitchen before, and I went back to it for this bread. Made a couple of changes, but otherwise, it’s similar.

For the dough:

  • 1 package of Rapid Rise yeast
  • 1 1/2 cups lukewarm milk
  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • 3 3/4 cups bread flour (more for rolling out)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 4 tbsp unsalted butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup golden raisins

For the swirl:

  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 3 tbsp sugar

For the egg wash:

  • 1 beaten egg
  • 1 tsp water

In a pot on the stove, heat the milk until it’s about 110*. Pour 1/2 cup of the warm milk into a small bowl (I used my Pyrex glass measuring cup), then add 1tbsp of the sugar and sprinkle the yeast on top. Let this proof for 10 minutes. If it’s not frothy, just start over. You want to make sure the yeast is alive and kicking before moving on.

In a stand mixer, combine all dry ingredients and mix well. Add milk, melted butter, and proofed yeast. Add in raisins.

Mix in stand mixer for 7 minutes or by hand for 10 minutes.

Place bread dough in an oiled bowl and cover with a towel. Leave to rise in a warm place. I like to let my bread rise in a cold oven with the light on, because it gets up to 100 degrees with the light on.

Let it rise for 2 hours and then roll out so it’s 8″x16″. Sprinkle over the swirl mix and roll up starting at the short end. Place in a bread pan, cover with a towel and let it rise again, for an hour this time.

Preheat oven to 375*. Beat an egg and a little water and brush over the top of the bread. Bake about 35-40 minutes. Let cool on a wire rack.

🙂

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2011 5:42 pm

    I live for Penzey’s! Their ginger is my favorite and my newest discovery, their shallot salt!

    • November 14, 2011 6:59 pm

      Ok, that sounds really GOOD. I used up the ginger so, so fast. Seriously, it’s the best!! I’ll look for the shallot salt when we go next.

  2. November 14, 2011 6:01 pm

    OH MY GOODNESS…I need to try that. Toasted cinnamon raisin bread with butter is one of my favorite things ever. Thanks so much for your recipe!

    • November 14, 2011 6:58 pm

      Ooooh yes! Make it up, girl! I made a lil french toast with it for the husband. He raved!

  3. ilovefetacheese permalink
    November 14, 2011 10:12 pm

    WOWWW looks amazing!!

  4. Samantha permalink
    November 14, 2011 10:49 pm

    That bread is gorgeous! I’d love to order from them sometime. Tried to on Guam but they wouldn’t ship. (story of my life LOL) Making yeast breads is so fun!

Leave a Reply

