Skip to content

Clocks back=extra hour=more time in the kitchen

November 8, 2011

I’m not sure why I think an extra hour in a day is like having an extra 6 hours, but all the same, I did a bunch of stuff in the kitchen. On Sunday I baked bread, made my first chutney, and tried a new recipe I saw my girlfriend Christina post about.

We had a CSA pickup that was chock full of fall flavors: cranberries, pears, apples, squash, kale, brussels sprouts and the like.

So, here’s what I made:

I love to jar stuff, so this was fun.

I came across this recipe for Cranberry Apple Chutney on Modern Comfort Food, and I thought I’d give it a go. I made a couple of changes, but nothing major.

  • 3 apples, peeled and diced
  • 2 pears, peeled and diced
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • zest of one lemon
  • 1/4 cup golden raisins
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/4 tsp ground cardamom
  • 1/4 tsp very hot cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 1/4 cups apple cider vinegar (I used Bragg’s)
  • 1/4 cup apple juice
  • 3 cups fresh cranberries

In a pot on the stove, combine all ingredients except the cranberries. Bring it to a boil and let it simmer for 10 minutes. Add the cranberries and simmer an additional 10. Let cool for 10 more minutes.

If you’re jarring, prepare your jars. I give mine a wash in the dishwasher, and then fill with boiling water until I’m about to fill the jars. Empty out the water, fill with chutney and seal tight. The button on the lid will go from convex to concave as the jar cools. That’s it. Since there are no preservatives,  you’d want to use within 2 weeks.

Next, I wanted to try a recipe called Ful Mudammas. I saw it on Christina’s blog, and she’d linked to a recipe from One Arab Vegan. Looked delicious to me, so I figured I’d give it a go.

Minor modifications because I don’t like garlic. So here’s what I did:

  • 1 can fava beans, lightly drained
  • 2 tsp cumin powder
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes (I used organic, no salt added)
  • 1/2 a large cucumber
  • 1″ piece of chopped leek
  • big handful of parsley
  • salt and pepper

Put the beans in a pot with lemon juice and cumin and give them a good mash. They should be still a little chunky, I think. I put the remaining ingredients into the Magic Bullet blender and gave it a good whirl. Added blended tomatoes and such to pot and simmered for 10 minutes. Added salt and pepper to taste, and more parsley. Really, this is so easy and SO GOOD. I have it for lunch again today. I took Christina’s lead and ate mine with hard boiled eggs. LOVE. Will make again soon.

And finally, this is barely a recipe, but I wanted to share it with you.

Sorry about the indoor photo, but it gets dark so early now! Ok, last night, it was just me for dinner (Michael was at the Bruins game). Wasn’t super sure what I was feeling, aside from veggies.

I looked around Foodgawker for some ideas with what do to with my butternut squash, when I came across a recipe from Kalyn’s Kitchen. It’s funny how sometimes I just land on her recipes from photos alone. Clearly, I like her stuff.

I followed her recipe for balsamic roasted butternut squash to the letter, and I um, ate all of it. Hey, it was just half a squash, ahahah. I roasted a large broccoli crown as well.  I love roasted broccoli, so I was pretty happy!

I’ll be making this again!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2011 12:35 am

    Oooh I am definitely going to make that squash. And that broccoli. Broccoli is practically the only vegetable I can get Little C to eat. And she likes seasoned food, (so i don’t know why I keep giving her bland baby appropriate things, I really don’t) so I bet she’d love the taste of the balsamic.

  2. November 10, 2011 1:51 am

    Do it! You know, it gets very sweet when roasted. I use the Rubio balsamic, but I bet anything works! Let me know how you like it.

  3. ilovefetacheese permalink
    November 10, 2011 4:27 pm

    I’m glad you liked it! Its so filling and easy to make. Yours looks amazing.

    • November 10, 2011 6:03 pm

      Thanks for sharing it! I loved and am making for girl’s night tonight. I think they’ll love it, too.

  4. November 17, 2011 1:58 pm

    Wow I’m so glad to hear you liked it! I feel honored to have been featured on both your blogs 🙂

    • November 17, 2011 4:53 pm

      Thanks so much! It was so wonderful – I made it for girl’s night when I hosted last week. Everyone raved about it.

Leave a Reply

