Skip to content

Spooky Sprint 5K: 1st overall female

October 30, 2011

I wasn’t going to run the Melrose YMCA Spooky Sprint 5K this year. I mean, I kept saying I would, and then I thought better of it. Too close to marathon, hadn’t done much speed work, etc. On Thursday, Michael asked “You really aren’t going to run it? REALLY?”. That was about all it took. I said fine, and signed up.

Not gonna lie: I wanted to come in first! When do I not? I realize I’m not THAT fast, but I do what I can.

So, I got ready and down we went. I wore my Baystate shirt because I like it. Also because I am lacking non-race winter running shirts. True story.

Remember I was telling you about my Brooks Pure Connects? I raced in them. Still completely in love.

I got #124 (I like numbers that are even), and did some strides to loosen up. I was feeling pretty jumpy. I am always very anxious at the start. (Why yes, my calf muscles do look like they could eat children.)

Let’s do this.

My Garmin didn’t work for the first 33 or so seconds. I looked down and it had dashes in the speed and distance places. I thought about not fixing it and then figured no no, I’ll fix it. I slowed down a little to fiddle with it and got it started around the half mile mark (from what data I have). About this time, I noticed another female runner. I hadn’t seen any others until her. It was around when I was trying to fix my technology. I got it fixed and sped up, and that was when I saw her last. (She took 2nd place overall.)

Went up a little hill (in 7:33) and down the other side. I saw a volunteer who I thought said I was the first woman. I decided to pretend she hadn’t said that so I wouldn’t slow down! When I had .10 left, I saw one of the male finishers who’d come down the street to where I was turning up. He said “You’re the first woman. Keep it going!” I sped up and finished in 23:01. First overall female! That was a PR for me and a first overall win. I averaged a 7:26 mile.

I did want a 22 range 5K, but that’s ok. I’ll save it for next time.

(Last year, I was the 7th overall female, and I finished in 24:08. I took the medal for top YMCA female finisher.)

Hahah I saw Michael and I started waving. Form is getting a little wonky there.

You know that this is? Pure joy. Also, if you have a chance PLEASE at least go try on those Brooks Pure Projects. I am worried they’ll stop making them now, and I want to start hoarding them.

After the race, someone from Dunkin’ Donuts came up and took my photo. She said it was for the store. Hahah, isn’t that great? I need to go in and see about it.

I won a gift certificate to Marathon Sports, a giant pumpkin and this medal. The back reads: “2011 Spooky Sprint Melrose Y 1st Place Female”. Isn’t that cool? I think it’s very cool.

There wasn’t an awards ceremony, because there was a mistake with the race results, so I went to pick it up a couple hours later.

Really glad I went! Goal in the future: sub 21 5K, and another overall win!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2011 9:54 pm

    Awesome, congratulations!

  2. Elise permalink
    October 30, 2011 11:07 pm

    Man I feel bad that I tried to talk you out of this one! I was just worried it was too close to the marathon and did not want you to get hurt like I did. You are way smarter than that though! Love the pics and race report.

    Elise

    • October 31, 2011 1:34 am

      Oh gosh, you were so sweet to advise me on that. I seriously hesitated with this but since I felt ok, I figured what the heck. Still need more stretching (hello right ITB!) but I think everything’s a-ok. Thanks so much! 🙂

  3. Samantha permalink
    October 31, 2011 3:23 am

    You are so so awesome, way to go! That’s an admirable 5k time for sure and doing it with ease!

    A friend of mine is looking into the connects. She runs in the nike vomero and runs mid distances. (a half or relays are about her max desired). Do they make one with a little stability/motion control?

    • October 31, 2011 12:38 pm

      Thank ya much! The Pure Cadence is the one from the line with the most stability, though Vomero is a neutral shoe, so she should theoretically have an easy time transitioning to the minimals.

  4. November 1, 2011 4:00 pm

    You’re such a badass – congrats!!
    I want the Pure Cadence’s SO BADLY! I put them on my Christmas list, but I don’t know if I can wait that long!!
    xoxoxoxo

    • November 1, 2011 4:11 pm

      Haha thanks! Oh girl. You need them. I haven’t tried the Cadence, but they’re all awesome. I ran my 400m repeats in these this morning. Really, I never want to take them off. MAGIC SHOEZ. xoxoxoxo

  5. November 3, 2011 1:51 am

    That’s…amazing. Wow. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

