Skip to content

Versatile Blogger Award (& 7 things about me)

October 28, 2011

So, I get this notification that my girlfriend and blogger, Kim, over at Domestocrat has nominated me for the Versatile Blogger Award. Isn’t that nice?? And here I was, worried that my “everything” blog might be too blah. But wait! It’s versatile!

Kim was nominated by Jenny at House Full of Pretty for the Versatile Blogger Award. Very cool, right? Check both of these girls out!

So, what are the rules?

  • Thank and link back to the person who gave you the award.
  • Share 7 things about yourself.
  • Send it along to other (newer) bloggers and let them know you nominated them.
Thank you, Kim! I love that you’ve always got a new adventure and interest. And, you always look so happy in your photos. That makes me happy for you.
So. Seven things, huh? Let’s see what we got.
  1. I went into higher education because I love school. I didn’t want to leave, and that was one way to stay. If I had to do it again, I’d probably go into research (yay, lab work!) and work for a university.
  2. I read exclusively nonfiction. Fiction makes my brain itch. If it’s not true, I feel frustrated. I want it to be REAL.
  3. I love makeup and jewelry. They are my favorite things to buy. Current obsessions: a set of opera length pearls (to wear over everything) and very bright lip colors. Very, very bright.
  4. I love my girlfriends. I talk to them every day, and I’m not sure where I’d be without them. If I miss a day without talking to Anne, I really feel sad. She might be far away, but constant communication makes the distance seem smaller.
  5. I am my most favorite project. I feel like I’m always in a state of trying to be a better person – or let’s be honest: just look better. I am also a little vain. And when it comes to my hair, I can talk about it FOREVER.
  6. I changed the Bean’s last name from my maiden to married name when we tied the knot. She’s 13 now and sometimes I think I might be related to her. But she’s a cat, so that’s weird. (Also, I want to dress her for Halloween but Michael says no. I think the Bean wants to wear clothes.)
  7. Random list of stuff I love: things that smell like coconut, things that are black and white, crab cakes, when animals wear scarves, leg warmers, eating seasonally, impromptu road trips with Michael, things that sparkle, hoarding yarn for no particular use, country music and cowboy boots, New England and chocolate milk.
Phew! That’s a lotta stuff!
I have two nominations for the Versatile Blogger Award. The envelope please…..
First, Meaghan at Miles, Miles and More Miles!! Meaghan and I met when we both guest blogged for Page at Twentysixandthensome. She’s a dear friend, a fierce runner, fabulous swimmer and an awesome mom! I love her dedication and enthusiasm.
Next, Kate at Run With Kate! I always enjoy reading Kate’s blog. Sometimes it’s running, sometimes it’s cooking, sometimes it’s outreach. I love it all.
What a fun project for a Friday! And, just a reminder – if you’re in for the 10-Day Give and haven’t signed up yet, please do so! Tomorrow I’m drawing a name and giving a present! 🙂
8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2011 7:24 pm

    Yaaaaaaaaaaaay!!! xoxoxoxo…

  2. anne permalink
    October 28, 2011 11:27 pm

    the bean wants to be dorothy for halloween. I see plaid gingham, a tiny apron, and teeny tiny red sequined legwarmers. this must happen.

  3. Samantha permalink
    October 28, 2011 11:57 pm

    The 10 day give has been so wonderful, to consciously THINK about what I’m going to do and how. And it stretches my comfort zone because I’m so antisocial. I hate making eye contact and speaking with people but sometimes it forces me to.

    Congrats on the nomination! I like that when I click on your blog it can be about yummy food, pretty fiber arts, running, or anything.

    • October 29, 2011 1:14 am

      I am so happy to hear that! It’s amazing what the give has given (ha) me as well .I have experienced the same thing. In fact today, I found I struck up a conversation with two strangers and that I felt better afterwards. Generally, I don’t do that.

      Thanks so much Sam! I really appreciate it.

  4. October 31, 2011 11:28 pm

    Thanks so much for the shout out, Nicole! And so glad I found your blog through Kim!!!

Leave a Reply

