Skip to content

Things that taste like fall

October 24, 2011

I had a bit of domestic time yesterday post-donut crawl (more on that later) and did a bunch of prep work (roasted ginger vegetables, anyone?) and a little cooking.

I was looking around Foodgawker, and I came upon this recipe for Pumpkin Apple Harvest Rice, and I figured I’d use that as a jumping point.

What I did:

  • 1.5 cups of cooked quinoa
  • 2 green onions, diced
  • 1/2 cup mushrooms, sliced
  • 2 apples, diced
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  • 1 tsp maple syrup
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tbsp chopped walnuts
  • salt and pepper to taste

While the quinoa is cooking, sautee green onion, mushrooms, and one of the apples. You just need a quick cook on this mixture (enough to soften mushrooms). Add pumpkins, raisins, cinnamon, walnuts, apple cider vinegar, salt and pepper. Remove from heat.

When quinoa is fully cooked, combine both mixtures. Add the additional reserved diced apple (for extra crunch).

Secondly, there is a drink at Life Alive (I know, I am obsessed) called Hive Alive. IT IS SO GOOD. However, last time we got it, it was kind of warm-ish, which detracted from my love a little.

I decided to make my own, with apple cider from CSA. Here’s what I did:

  • 1 cup apple cider
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 tsp honey, warmed (this helps with blending)
  • 1 ice cube

Mix all ingredients in blender. Blend until ice is pretty much gone. Drink up! Next time, I am going to try a ginger version. 🙂

I also made roasted potatoes. I think I have mentioned before that I have no draw to potatoes, really. Now my sister? She LOVES potatoes. And this weekend, she asked if I’ve ever tried soaking potatoes 10 minutes before roasting, to help the skins crisp. I wasn’t even aware that was a thing. So, I did it.

Really very good.

Loose recipe:

  • potatoes, cut into even pieces
  • little olive oil
  • salt, pepper

Preheat oven to 375*. After soaking the diced potatoes for 10  minutes in water, transfer to baking dish. Drizzle over a little olive oil and salt and pepper. Roast for about 45 minutes. That’s it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

