Skip to content

Recap: Baystate Marathon 2011

October 17, 2011

I love running. I really, really do. With all my heart and soul. And so, during taper week, I was especially anxious. I was pretty sure that this time, the 3:35 qualifying time I need (recent BAA changes, etc) was gonna be a bit out of reach. I figured I would just go and do my best, and try to stop panicking.

On Friday night of marathon weekend, we went to pick up my bib and packet and also go to Life Alive – this amazing vegetarian restaurant in Lowell that I pretty much ADORE. Michael was trying to make me feel better. He is a wonderful husband.

The relentless rain is responsible for my hair looking ever so hot. Haha.

On Saturday night, I laid out all my gear – on the kitchen floor. I needed everything laid out where I could see it.

It was cold and windy at the start. The wind was slated to be 15-20mph, with gusts of 30-40mph. Did that worry me? Um, everything worries me. So yes.

I wore my sweatshirt in the corral until about the last possible moment.

And then, it was time to go. 18 weeks of training, 887 miles run…and suddenly it’s down to this one moment.

I don’t remember a ton about the race. I mentally broke it up into 5 5-mile runs. I took 5 GUs with me, to be had at miles 5, 10, 15, 20 and 25. The only one I didn’t take was 25. I was pretty sure I wouldn’t be able to get it down. Usually, I am craving some kind of drink or food during a long run, but the only thing I really thought was, around mile 23, that if someone stuck a straw in the river, I would totally drink it. I was so thirsty. Also, that is completely disgusting, I know.

Things that I remember along the race: about .2 in, this tall guy right behind me, ran directly into one of those little wooden horse things (you know, they have signs on them and divide the road?) He screamed and fell over and was lying on the ground. One of the volunteers rushed to him right away.

There was an adorable girl with arm sleeves patterned with cute little skulls. It struck me as so cute. I was running near her the whole time.

Around mile 17, the wind picked up. I just felt like I was gulping air. I figured I wouldn’t kill myself over it, and just try to run steady. I lost some time in the second half. I wonder if I could have done MORE. I am not sure. I do know I should work on my half marathon time as a future goal though. My half marathon time was 1:50:56, and my 30k time was 2:38:58. The last 10K was where I was feeling the wind, hard. Finished with a 3:46:01 on the official clock, for a pace of 8:38.

I feel like I can’t discount it, but I didn’t sleep much last night, thinking about it.

While I was running, Michael took some photos. I love this one:

You want to see how excited I was to see my husband, my girlfriend Lindsay and her husband Jason? THIS:

And that was that. Oh! Can you see my pink Hello Kitty barrettes?

Isn’t this sweet? I love this man. Thank you for being such a wonderful and supportive husband.

I woke up this morning and thought maybe I’d go get fitted for the new Brooks Pure Project sneakers. I want them SO BAD. But then I thought, ok, this doesn’t need to be done TODAY. Am taking a couple days off, and then I’ll get fitted and trot them out over the weekend. 🙂

Physically, I feel really good. Sore in a few places, but not too bad. I took my BCAAs, and made sure I got some protein and carbs in right away. Happiest feeling? No back pain. Usually my lower back hurts after a long run. I cannot CANNOT say enough great things about New Rules of Lifting for Abs. It’s so good for your core (and that makes for a happy back!).

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2011 6:32 pm

    So proud of you – way to leave it all out there – what a FANTASTIC race!! Yay! xoxo

  2. anne permalink
    October 17, 2011 9:26 pm

    you really are the cutest thing that has ever lived. ever.

  3. Elise permalink
    October 17, 2011 9:45 pm

    Nicole – I love this RR! You ran a great race. Negative splits – are you kidding me? I can only dream of them.
    Elise

    • October 17, 2011 10:00 pm

      <3. Thank you. I keep revisiting mile 24 in my brain (slow down) and I wish I could have gave more. Next time!! The good news is that, like Meaghan said, I did leave it all on the field.

  4. Samantha permalink
    October 17, 2011 10:08 pm

    No one should ever look that good after a marathon. 🙂 You did AWESOME!

    I want to try the pure projects too but alas…Japan.

    • October 18, 2011 12:16 am

      Hahaha thanks Sam! Oh boo. I am getting mine on Wednesday. I’ll trot them out on Thursday and I will report. In case you need to know all about them.

  5. October 18, 2011 2:06 am

    You’re my hero!! Love all the pictures and that you went to Life Alive, I have to try that! So awesome that you finished, you worked SO HARD for this!!!!

  6. ilovefetacheese permalink
    October 18, 2011 5:59 am

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! YAYYY!! its over and you did it!!! What a nice hubby too 🙂

  7. Maureen permalink
    October 18, 2011 2:46 pm

    Congratulations Nicole! fantastic accomplishment. You did it and looked so good in the process- amazing!

  8. Errign permalink
    October 19, 2011 1:46 am

    Great job! That’s an awesome time 🙂

Leave a Reply

