Skip to content

Apple picking trip #2 & Burlington, VT

October 13, 2011

A long weekend is a fun thing. We packed Columbus Day weekend full of fun stuff. And I managed to get in a ton of knitting, too. More on that later. I ran just 12 miles over the weekend. Three days to marathon!

One apple trip wasn’t enough for us. We went again on Saturday, this time with my sister and her boyfriend. It was so hot out! It felt like the middle of summer.

Applecrest Farms has, in our opinion, really great amenities. We remembered the butternut cranberry bisque soup from last year, and set out to get that first.

The tour guide encouraged us to “eat as many apples as you want on your trip”. So, we partook:

And we saw animals:

And hugged apples:

My sister was enamored with this little creature (something about the marabou):

We went to the farm stand after all that apple picking, and got some beautiful local produce and milk. Regular and coffee milk. Delicious.

On Sunday, we headed up to Burlington, VT. We were slated to go last weekend, but I was under the weather.

After doing the parking dance (with a hot, long weekend in October, you can bet it was crowded!), we made it to Magnolia’s for lunch just in time.

After walking around, we went to our favorite place: Dobra Tea. It’s a beautiful tea room. All teas are served in the  style traditional to their origin. If you sit in the Moroccan tea room, you have to take off your shoes (and you sit on the floor). It’s super fun. Also, VERY relaxing.

We’ve been to the Dobra in Portland as well, but to be honest, this is the best!

We walked over to Lake Champlain:

And Michael told me about the lake monster, Champ. I am not buying it, but here’s me, posing with the decrepit thing:

Oh! We got Aztec hot cocoa. (I actually didn’t think I liked it, and then I kind of drank most of Michael’s. And fished out the marshmallows!) See? Oh, yeah. It was so humid, my hair was being fuzzy.

My favorite purchase of the trip: these matryoshka dolls that are actually measuring cups!! I can’t stand how cute they are. There was a little kitchen store, and I snagged these there.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. ilovefetacheese permalink
    October 13, 2011 5:44 pm

    NICE PURSE i want it 🙂

    • October 13, 2011 6:55 pm

      *shares* Also, Teddy’s video with the “Dynamite” catnip? Seriously made my DAY.

Leave a Reply

