Skip to content

Vanilla Scented Applesauce

October 11, 2011

How am I coping with taper week? I am distracting myself with loads of things, namely yarn and knitting projects. This might be a good time to mention I finished a hat this weekend. It kind of flew off the needles. Nervous energy – I have it. Want some?

The other thing I am doing: spending time in the kitchen.

And so, what to do with our apples from apple picking trip #2? This:

I made one for us, and one for my sweet girlfriend, Lindsay and her husband. Hi girl! Yours is the one with the bow on it (I’m sure you knew that).

Anyway, this leans on the side of being not too sweet.  I followed the recipe from Katie Did. The only change I made: added 2 tbsp of maple syrup. Our apples were pretty tart. It could have used more sweetner, but eh, it’s all good.

Honestly, it’s lovely and aromatic. I would definitely recommend making this. It’s an easy and fun twist on applesauce. (And while it cooked, I folded laundry. You don’t even need to hover.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2011 3:41 pm

    Yayy glad you enjoyed the recipe! I can see how tart apples would need a little love from maple syrup. I happened to use really sweet apples and it was naturally very sweet for me. I love your blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

