Skip to content

Things that are yellow.

October 6, 2011

I am a big fan of yellow things. Even my iPod is yellow. And so, I present you with 2 yellow themed things that start with “S”: a salad, and a sweater.

We got watermelon late into the season from CSA. My admission with watermelon: I kind of hate cutting it. It makes a mess of my kitchen counter, and you know, I’m not a fan of sticky messes. I mean, I clean it right away, but it still seems so cumbersome. However, this was a baby watermelon. And Michael came across a recipe on Boston.com for a watermelon caprese salad. He asked, I made.

Since I didn’t click the link when he sent it (just mentally noted I needed to make this salad), I just searched it  now.  And I see that the recipe called for tomatoes. Ha! Oh well. Here’s my interpretation of it:

  • yellow watermelon, seeds removed
  • mozzarella cheese, diced
  • chiffonade basil
  • olive oil
  • salt, pepper

Barely a recipe, but I mixed it all together and let it sit for an hour before serving. We ate all of it.

The second item of note is the yellow baby sweater I knit for my very sweet, very patient, very lovely running shoe fitter, Lucy. She is due so soon. I liked the yellow and lilac together. I hope she does, too.

Here is a close up of the button:

This pattern was free, and you can find it right here.  Some details about my sweater: I made increases after each set of stitch markers, instead of each individual marker. I used Berocco Comfort DK yarn in Limone, and I knit this with a size 7 needles.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

