Skip to content

Very Important Question.

October 1, 2011

Ok, with or without nuts? How do you like your cookies? I am generally anti-nut in cookies, but very pro-nut in general, which is probably weird. I am trying to exercise self-restraint with that giant almond butter I bought. No easy feat, I’ll tell you. But I usually make a face when there are nuts in brownies or cookies.

But today, I thought the best use of my time was baking cookies. And since I came across a recipe calling for walnuts, I felt like I should give it a go. Why not, right? I haven’t made cookies in so long, I can’t even remember what I baked last. Also, I am under the weather, and cookies make me feel better. So, there is that.

Other things happening: I have reached taper madness. I feel a little panicky that I only ran 4 race pace miles this morning. Two weeks to marathon. Gulp. Twelve miles in the morning and then off to a shorter week. I restocked my Gu supply yesterday. After being sick and miserable all day, I decided to go for a quick walk to Marathon Sports. In my Sudafed-induced fog, I thought they were out of Vanilla. They were not. But I freaked out anyway. Awesome. I am pretty sure the staff thinks I’m insane.

These cookies were inspired by this recipe at The Cooking Photographer (cool blog name, huh?). But I totally um, didn’t do that and instead did this:

  • 1 stick softened butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp molasses
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup white flour
  • 1/4 cup ground oatmeal
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chunks
  • 1/4 cup white chocolate chunks
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts
Preheat oven to 350. Cream the butter, sugar and molasses for about 3 minutes. Add egg and combine. I won’t lie – I just dump in the dry ingredients and vanilla extract and blend until combined. Stir in chocolate and walnuts.
Spoon onto a baking sheet lined in parchment or tinfoil (when I’m out of parchment, I’ll use tinfoil. I did it today, with no ill effects). Bake for 10 minutes.  Cool on a baking rack.
These are soft and chewy cookies – no crisp here! Happy Saturday everyone! I think I’m gonna go paint my nails, and finish that baby sweater I’m working on. 🙂
2 Comments leave one →
  1. ilovefetacheese permalink
    October 2, 2011 5:19 pm

    WITH NUTS. I like the crunch 🙂

Leave a Reply

