Skip to content

It’s Domestic. (Boogie Woogie Woogie).

September 26, 2011

You really did want to have the Electric Slide stuck in your head all day, right? I knew it!

We had a nice well rounded weekend that combined a little bit of going out, and a little  bit of staying in, and a whole lotta miles that I had to run.

I woke up on Friday morning with glands so swollen, I felt like I was swallowing knives! I took the day off, and mainlined vitamin C, oregano oil, water and tea. It must’ve worked because by Sunday, I felt brand new again! So, the weekend was on!

Ran a race paced 10 miler on Saturday morning (just a thought: don’t be dim like me. I had this really SMART idea to drink EmergenC mixed with Scivation Xtend BCAAs right before I ran. Yeah, no. Don’t do that. I was fine in the end, but I felt a little sloshy in the belly.)

So, the funny thing that happened on my Saturday run: I accidentally ran into a race course. Now, to my credit, the race had not started yet. But signs were going up. Some folks around the lake (where the race was) thought that I was…winning? I heard some clapping and a man came over and gave me a high five and yelled “You go girl!”. I didn’t want to leave him hanging, so I repaid the gesture. Then I realized what was happening! Ack! I ran on out of there, lest anyone else mistakenly cheer me on.

We made another trip to Western Mass to both WEBS (yay, yarn!) and Table & Vine. Like any good day trip, it was so much fun. Michael got a new whisky, I got new yarn, and we had some delicious homemade ice cream from Ben and Bill’s in Northampton. I’d already taken an inventory of my yarn, and was prepared to buy for a project I’ve been eying for a year.

I am making this hat and mitten set! My colors are a little different, but I like it a lot, already!

It’s a free pattern, and you can access it right here, in case you want to make it, too.

On Sunday, I ran my last 20 miler before the marathon (which is in 3 weeks). And then, it was homebody stuff. 🙂

I made grape jam, from the concord grapes we got at CSA last week. We got 1.5 pounds of grapes, and it yielded just this much jam. However, it is really quite delicious. So we plan to enjoy every little bit.

I used this recipe from At Home with Gina C, and thought it was pretty fab. It doesn’t call for sugar, but uses honey instead. I liked that. I used a ratio of 1.5 pounds of grapes to 2 tbsp honey.

Let me show you my knitting stuff!

I got a new project bag at WEBS, since I knit on the train a lot.

I wanted to make some really fine knit, elbow length, fingerless gloves. I used the yarn I bought when we went to Stowe, VT. I love this yarn. (Pattern details: fingering weight yarn, cast on 54 on size 2 needles. 2×1 ribbing for 4 rows, knit until desired length. For thumb hole, knit back and forth – instead of in the round – slipping the first stitch of each row. I needed 18 rows to make the thumb hole. Return to knitting in the round until desired length. 2×1 ribbing for 4 rows and bind off.)

And finally, I am knitting a baby sweater for my pregnant shoe fitter. She is a saint (Lucy, over at Melrose’s Marathon Sports), and she’s having a little girl! She’s due October 17th- so close now! I bought some new yarn at WEBS and am making her this baby sweater.

Also, this is my 100th post! 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

