Skip to content

Apple picking, a tapas party and only 18 miles.

September 20, 2011

This weekend we decided we couldn’t really wait for our apple picking trip (Applecrest, going in a few weeks) and instead, we decided to scoot on over to Brooksby Farms in Peabody, and pick a peck. Yay!

We arrived a little before 1pm, and it was pretty quiet still. Which is good. We like quiet!

Everything is better when you hold hands.

Michael eyes me.

Here’s the peck. We figured this would hold us over until next month!

We didn’t even sample any while we were apple picking. Can you see our shiny halos? 🙂

Then we stopped at the Brooksby Market. We got tomatoes. They were delicious (I made gazpacho with them, but more on that later). We also got cider donuts and one really intensely hot apple cider.

After that, we were hurrying home. We were having a tapas party at my sister Michelle’s house, and I needed to get cooking! But. My sweet husband knew I was out of almond butter, and really wanting more. I ate the last spoonful post run. I was worried I sounded like a little piggy, so I didn’t want to ask to stop and get more, especially if we were pressed for time.

Michael surprised me by driving us to our favorite local grocery: Green Street Market, which is conveniently my FAVORITE place to get almond butter.

And this is what we hauled! (As you can see, we usually like getting things in pairs). Coconut water, organic pumpkin (I made the green monster smoothie into a pumpkin green monster. Just add 2 tbsp pumpkin and cinnamon!), kombucha, Bragg’s Apple Cider Vinegar juice in Concord Grape, the precious almond butter, and some Sundrops (organic M&Ms).

For the tapas party, Michael made the most delicious sangria I have had. Ever. Sadly, I wanted to drink all of it. My glass and everyone else’s. I didn’t though. Because I am nice.

First things first. With those pretty apples, I made a quick dish of baked apples. Slice them up, and arrange in baking dish. Mix 1 tbsp butter with1 tbsp maple syrup. Brush over the top and bake at 350 for about 35 minutes. When finished, add raisins and cinnamon. We ate all of them. Really simple and good.

I made a little gazpacho with roasted corn for the tapas party, and we served it in teacups.

And here it is, in all its glory. The tapas table.

Assemble your own fish tacos, baja cream, fresh edamame (I boiled them with lemon for 8 minutes), roasted beets, roasted butternut squash.

Swiss chard, and roasted peppers with basil.

And running wise, I only ran 18 miles over the course of the weekend. 6 at race pace on Saturday, 12 on Sunday. It felt like a vacation. This is my last heavy mileage week (30 miles next weekend: 10 on Saturday at race pace, 20 on Sunday) before I start the taper. Are you excited or what??

And because the world clearly needs more photos of me kissing things, I leave you with this gem:

7 Comments leave one →
  1. ilovefetacheese permalink
    September 20, 2011 3:43 pm

    amazing foodz, as usually. I’m moving in. Get the guest room prepared 😀

  2. melissa permalink
    September 20, 2011 4:00 pm

    omg. What is the baja cream? I feel like i need this for my next batch of tacos. Also – blue corn tortilla shells? I need to know more!

  3. September 21, 2011 2:12 pm

    All the food looks amazing – especially the baked apples! I love apple picking. I worked at an apple orchard in high school up in NH and still consider it the best job I ever had.
    Isn’t it funny how when you’re used to running such mileage, a weekend of “only” 18 seems like a break – when it’s actually still pretty kick-ass? Good for you!

    • September 21, 2011 2:27 pm

      Oh that sounds like a wonderful job! The orchards are so pretty. It really is! I always know how skewed my thinking is at the height of a training schedule. Haha! Thanks! I am 3 weeks from Sunday. Yikes!

  4. September 29, 2011 3:30 am

    nice post and beautiful photos when i see these photos I Feel hungry

Leave a Reply

