Skip to content

Why you should carry sticky notes in your purse

August 31, 2011

Two words: Operation Beautiful.

Have you heard of it before? Caitlin is the mastermind behind this organization. The mission is to help end negative self-talk, one sticky note at a time. Left on mirrors everywhere, you can jot down a simple and uplifting note for a stranger to read. (And sticky notes are removable, so no damage will be done.)

I felt very inspired reading about her endeavor. As someone who has struggled with (and still struggles with, to some degree) negative self-talk, I think it’s so important we help ourselves through helping others.

Women (and men!) have so many pressures on them to look a certain way. With the increasing popularity of cosmetic surgery and media influence (Don’t like your face, your hair, your skin, your breasts? For a fee you can “fix” anything.), as well as aging coupled with the fact that as a country, we have always been obsessed with youth (You mean we can’t be 18 forever?), it can be a struggle.

I figured my yoga studio would be the best location (as my first place) to leave a sticky note in the name of Operation Beauty. After all, in yoga, we learn to keep our eyes on our own mat.

I jotted down a line that I repeat to myself, when I get stuck in comparing myself to other people (generally people taller than me, and I know I’ll never be any taller!). It really does help. I hope this made someone smile.

If you’re leaving love notes on mirrors, I’d love to see them! If you’d like to share you story and notes, send them along to nicolefrances [at] gmail [dot] com, and I’ll compile them for a post!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2011 3:11 pm

    I love this. I’m doing a ton of work right now with my therapist about negative self talk and ingrained mistaken beliefs about myself. I have note cards where I write down my negative thoughts and then list 4-5 counterpoints or affirmations essentially de-bunking the negativity. I love the bit about comparison being a joy thief. So true.

  2. August 31, 2011 3:31 pm

    (((Kim))) It’s such a process, I know. That’s a really great exercise, I think, because it helps you to move beyond the emotional (and not grounded in reality) thinking. ❤

    • August 31, 2011 6:37 pm

      I’m such an analytic person so it’s been very helpful for me to untangle the mistaken beliefs and bad thoughts by systematically asking myself where the belief came from, is it always true, what is the evidence, where did this belief begin, etc.

  3. August 31, 2011 4:36 pm

    This is so awesome. I really struggle with this as well, and it’s always nice to know you’re in good company. Loved the note in yoga – proud of you! xoxoxo..

    • August 31, 2011 5:08 pm

      It’s so important to strengthen our fellow sisters and quiet the critical voices. It’s better for all of us. xoxo

  4. September 1, 2011 4:41 pm

    I really love this!! It is amazing the effect that this movement has had on people!! Girl, you are gorgeous inside and out!

  5. September 2, 2011 6:52 pm

    I love this. I am totally doing this today (putting sticky notes in my purse right now).
    Thanks for the inspiration 🙂

  6. ilovefetacheese permalink
    September 7, 2011 7:40 am

    Great photo!! I love Caitlin’s operation beautiful…totes nice and awesome for women!

Leave a Reply

