Skip to content

“Pour me somethin’ tall and strong…”

August 30, 2011

I know you want to sing Alan Jackson, don’t you? It might be country, but I assure you, it’s very catchy and fun to sing. Also, I won’t tell anyone that you like country music! Nope, never. Me? Well, I shamelessly love it.

Pour me somethin’ tall and strong
Make it a hurricane before I go insane
It’s only half past twelve, but I don’t care
It’s five o’clock somewhere

And so, yes. We made drinks in the hurricane.

A small note on me and drinks: I really don’t like them, generally. I am new to wine (the wine tasting on the train in PA last year was my first real wine exploration), and I do know I like rum. Rum and Riesling. So of course, when we honeymooned (um, last November) we bought ….rum! Several kinds. We decided now is as good a time as any to break into it.

We were sort of in our pajamas so you’ll have to excuse the pics!

Here’s what we made (by we, I mean Michael. I just stand around and cut fruit when alcohol is involved).

Dances with Wenches (rum, cranberry juice and lime for me):

And a rum colada for Michael (rum, cream of coconut, lime juice, ice):

What else did we do for Hurricane Irene? I made blueberry currant hand pies!

I got the idea from The Pastry Affair, and here’s what I did:

For the dough:

  • 1 1/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 stick of butter, cut into tiny cubes
  • ~1/4 of ice water

Put all ingredients into food processor, stand mixer, or bowl. If you’re using a bowl, cut the butter into the dough with a pastry cutter (I’ve been known to use a potato masher…it works ok, if you don’t have a pastry cutter). Combine until the dough looks like wet sand. When you press it together, it’ll form a ball. Refrigerate for one hour.

In another bowl, combine the following:

  • 1/2 cup blueberries
  • 1/4 cup currants
  • scant 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp of vanilla extract

Combine and let stand while the dough is in the fridge, chilling.

Preheat oven to 375*.

Now, assemble your hand pies.

Roll out dough into desired shape. I made tops and bottoms for mine, but you can also use the fold over method as show on The Pastry Affair. Fill with less filling than you think you need (they tend to poof up when you cook them).

Beat one egg yolk and brush over the top. Cut a vent to let air escape. Refrigerate the pies for 20 minutes before baking. Cook about 15-20 minutes, stopping to check on the level of done-ness.

After that, we ventured out to see the damage Irene had caused.

First of all, the Dunkin’ Donuts sign was down.

And the worst we saw were these trees, blocking a street not far from us:

Considering the damage Irene caused to others, we were extremely fortunate!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. ilovefetacheese permalink
    September 7, 2011 7:41 am

    UM WOW THOSE PIES LOOK AMAZING, need some now.

Leave a Reply

