Skip to content

Summer baking: Peach Cobbler

August 25, 2011

Hey, remember when I used to bake? Well, I think I’m almost back in action here. I decided to kick off my return-to-baking with Anne’s peach cobbler. If you’re going to bake anything right now, this is the most delicious way to go. Plus, it’s practically health food (read: has a lot of fruit). Ha!

The alteration I made: I used raspberries instead of blackberries. Our CSA gave us raspberries, so I had them on hand. And I checked out the blackberries at the grocery store, and every single package (no, really) had fuzz in it. How does that  happen? Raspberries it was. That would account for the pinkish hue.

A refresher on Anne’s recipe:

Cobbler:

  • 8 fresh peaches (skinned, pitted and sliced), some blackberries
  • combine 1/4c sugar with 1teaspoon of molasses (this will give you fresh brown sugar).
  • 1/2t cinnamon
  • 1/4t nutmeg
  • 1 shot amaretto (I am big on cooking with alcohol)
  • 2T chia seeds (these will help thicken the juice)

Combine all of the above, and bake for 8-10 minutes a pre-heated 425*F oven.

While this is baking combine the following:

  • 1c whole grain flour
  • 1/4c sugar mixed with 1t molasses (brown sugar)
  • 1t baking powder
  • a pinch or 2 of ground sea salt
  • 4-5T butter

You are making a sweet biscuit here, so combine all ingredients with a pastry knife (or fork) until quite crumbly. Add some hot water to this (1/4 cup or so) until it is just barely combined.

Take out the fruit from the oven, drop the pastry on top in heaping spoonfuls, and bake for about 30 minutes, or until the top is browned.

In addition to that, I made vanilla whipped cream for the topping.

Here’s what I did:

  • 3/4 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/4 cup confectioner’s sugar
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract

Whip until the cream holds soft peaks and is at desired whipped cream consistency.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

