Skip to content

Sunday’s Agenda: 19 miler and Canobie Lake Park (Let’s do this)

August 22, 2011

So yeah, that’s what I did on Sunday. Saturday’s run was a 9 miler at race pace (humidity was giving me a run for my money), and then I ran an easy 19 on Sunday. I love a long run but I sometimes miss my shorter training schedules – one that’s peppered with repeats and tempos and a fast 10 miler on Sunday. But yesterday marks 7 weeks until race day, and then I will mix it up a bit more.

I followed up with BCAAs, an ice bath, a shower and breakfast. Then we were off and running to meet my sister, Michelle and her significant other, Craig, for an afternoon at Canobie Lake Park.

I hadn’t been to Canobie Lake since 1992. Michael and the others? They seemed to have a) gone much more than me and b) had a serious cognitive map of the place. Love it!

As a person who gets motion sick on a pogo stick, I generally avoid rides like the plague. But you know what? Hanging out for the day, and watching my family go on rides and all of us laughing? It’s the best distillation of summer. Notable moments of the day: I went on the flume ride! Yes, I screamed.

I remember this entrance looking so HUGE when I was a little kid:

It takes me a while to get hungry or want to eat after a run, but by the time we arrived, I was ready to eat anything. That anything turned out to be popcorn.

Michelle, Michael and Craig, waiting to ride the teacups:

There’s my sister. Do you think we look alike? She’s grown out her hair and I think we look more alike now!

The park added a new rollercoaster, called The Untamed. It goes straight up like this:

And then it drops you down, like so:

And here are the boys, ready for take off:

Other things I did while I was there: ate ice cream.  I can’t pass up a vanilla and chocolate soft serve twist. Besides, I was looking to reclaim some calories!

Do you like amusement parks and rides? 🙂

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2011 6:58 pm

    Oh my gosh, flash back in this post to when I was little. I used to go to Canboie Lake growing up and it was so much fun!

  2. August 22, 2011 8:45 pm

    AH! Canobie Lake! I just sang the whole commercial theme song in my head (memories!)
    Nice job on the 19 miler! And good for you for getting into the ice bath – I despise them but the benefits are huge!

    • August 22, 2011 9:05 pm

      Haha Michael and I were singing it too! I know re: ice bath. I threw in a bunch of ice packs, to make it even colder. Brrr. But oh-so-helpful.

  3. August 22, 2011 9:52 pm

    I love that you said pogo stick! What a fun day to cap off a long run!

    • August 22, 2011 11:42 pm

      Did you have one when you were a kid? Because I was accident-prone, I managed to jump and down and really bang the heck out of my chin with the handles. LOL. My poor parents.

Leave a Reply

