Skip to content

What we did yesterday: Sally Frank Farmer’s Market

August 19, 2011

After our CSA pickup yesterday, Michael and I decided to run our errands around Melrose, instead of leaving town. We stopped by Green Street Natural Foods first (I was out of almond butter, and like all good junkies, wouldn’t stop talking about it until we got over there and I got my fix). Then, we went to our town’s little farmer’s market: Sally Frank.

Kind of an interesting little farmer’s market. It’s on the front lawn of the Methodist church at 645 Main Street, and with new extended hours (Thursday, 2-7pm), we were finally able to see what it’s all about.

A word about parking: there is additional parking behind city hall, so don’t let that deter you. Of course, prime parking is on Main Street, but that’s at a premium. Oh, and bring cash.

In addition to live music, there was our friend Lorenzo, from Coffee, Tea and Me, with a table set up with coffee and chocolate. We made our way over there to buy some chipotle chili Taza chocolate (Michael’s choice, he loves it by the way).

We picked up cucumbers (2 for $1) and produce by the bagful. I think I have some kind of produce compulsion: even coming back from PA, we had 5 pounds of tomatoes. Not to mention how many peaches!! I can’t stop buying produce.

We got: more tomatoes (please laugh, we’d already got 1.5 pounds from CSA pickup), white bell peppers, broccoli, more peaches. These peaches are earmarked for Anne’s cobbler. (Oh, also? I made that salad she posted. It also passed my husband test. So, Anne and I suggest you make it!)

All this produce better make me live to be 110! Or at least look  young for a really long time.

We swung by Beverly Farms Soap Werks because they make some great small batch soaps, and Michael is a big fan of them.

And, we discovered a new vendor. Burnin’ Love Sauces is there every other Thursday, and they make a bunch of BBQ sauces, dressings and chutneys. What we picked up: Sassy Mo’lassy BBQ sauce and Sweet Onion Blues chutney. If you want to chase down Burnin’ Love Sauces, like a bunch of groupies, you can click here, and find them at farmer’s markets all over Massachusetts. JoAnn will let you sample anything you want – and believe me, we tried them all.

Before they closed, we managed to get a purchase of chorizo at Shady Pine Farms. Their farm is located in New Braintree, MA, and they feature humanely raised, hormone free, free range, grass fed meats. I’m having a hell of a go with meat lately, but I figured I’d try this out!

And, we ran into our sweet friends, Lindsay and Jason, over at the market. We’re so happy they’ve moved to Melrose, and now we get to run into them all over town. Isn’t that fun?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2011 1:25 pm

    OMG I miss good farmers markets! Those peaches and soaps, I swoon! You’re gorgeous, lady, you will certainly age well!

  2. Sudoku Junkie permalink
    August 23, 2011 9:38 pm

    Hey! I’m a huge fan of Taza chocolate too! My friends from Boston got me cranked on it. I can’t eat regular chocolate any more. 😀 Kirsten

Leave a Reply

