Skip to content

Ahh, Amish Country.

August 16, 2011
tags: , ,

We so loved our trip to Intercourse, PA last year, that we went again. I know, right? We’re usually not big vacation repeaters. But we couldn’t help ourselves.

After seeing this, how could you not  go back?

It’s some of the most gorgeous landscape we’ve ever seen. The air is fresh (albeit at times, manure-y), the sky and land look vibrant and there is a calmness I can’t quite describe.

Worth mentioning: nearly everything (no, really) closes at 5pm (even on Saturday) and nothing is open on Sunday. If you go, definitely make sure you’re there on a weekday, espescially if you want to go to lots of places. This includes things like, the pretzel factory. Tours end at 3pm, just so you know!

Michael, with mustard-y pretzel:

We had some really outstanding food in nearby Lancaster at John J Jeffries. It’s an organic and local restaurant with a truly inspired chef. We also had some…oh, food of a more local color. (Read: Dienner’s Country Restaurant). Michael really wanted to try scrapple, so we scooted off to check it out.

We took a ride on a wine train! Wine tasting, plus a train? Yes, it’s awesome. Last year, we checked it out too. Had to do it again.

View from the train (it spelled out “Once Upon a Time”):

I have no idea why I am making this face on the wine train, but it’s funny.

And on Sunday morning, I fit in a 10 mile run before breakfast at the B&B. It was so breathtaking and went by much too fast. Seeing the farms on foot, running past cows, and being waved to from Amish families was nothing short of elating.

Sadly, the only pic I have from my run is my Garmin data (taken on the wrong setting, sigh. I was trying to get in and out of the rain.)! 10 miles and a little extra, for good luck. 🙂

And a big THANK YOU to Anne and Natalie for guest blogging! You girls are great!!

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2011 9:00 pm

    Totally inappropriate but I LOL’ed that an Amish town is called Intercourse. 🙂

    Stunning photos, as always. Looks very peaceful!

    • August 17, 2011 1:14 am

      Ha! It used to be called “Cross Keys”…IDEK. LOL. I learned that from Wikipedia. 🙂 It makes me smirk, too.

  2. August 17, 2011 8:23 pm

    Hi! Just found your blog – love it! I’m also a distance runner originally from Boston (still my favorite city). I especially enjoyed this post because I now reside in Philly and *love* amish country! However, I have never heard of this magical wine train!! Totally checking it out before this summer’s over. Thanks!

    • August 18, 2011 1:03 pm

      Oh how wonderful! I am off to check out your blog. 🙂 I see that you’re running the Philly Half. Is this your first time running it? I’m running Baystate Marathon in 8 weeks. I can’t believe it’s creeping up so fast. It’s not a very scenic course (I mean, it’s Lowell, and a double loop) but it is quick! Hee!

      • August 18, 2011 7:13 pm

        Nice! I did the Philly 1/2 last year – love it. I just googled the Baystate Marathon (bc I’m considering another 1/2 to do this fall) but my husband is running Baltimore that weekend – bummer. Good luck with the training!

  3. ilovefetacheese permalink
    August 18, 2011 2:09 am

    Yayyyy you’re back!! i’m looking forward to seeing this epic salad you were talking about that you created a couple days ago… 🙂

    • August 18, 2011 12:57 pm

      Oh! I should blog that! In fact, I think I will, just for you! Also – I wanted to tell you – Anne and I made your egg puffs 2 nights ago for dinner (as dinner twins) but we made a little modification: tomatoes, basil and gouda! Just wanted to share. Those are so adaptable. 🙂

      • ilovefetacheese permalink
        August 18, 2011 1:24 pm

        YAYY!! Re: egg puffs, that sounds amazing. So true, you can put anything in them! Your version reminds me of sort of a caprese egg puff! I need to try it.

Leave a Reply

